Seventeen Schools Earn Schools Of Excellence Honor

May 17, 2005

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - State Schools Superintendent Dr. David Stewart announced today that 17 schools have been designated West Virginia Schools of Excellence.  

The Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and implementing advanced and innovated programs.  

"The teachers and students at these distinguished schools truly have something to celebrate. They have worked very hard to earn these awards," said Stewart. "The schools recognized have continually raised the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious award."  

West Virginia's 2005 Schools of Excellence are:  

Burnsville Elementary, Braxton County Dunlow Elementary, Wayne County Fairview Elementary, Marion County French Creek Elementary, Upshur County Virgil L. Flinn Elementary, Kanawha County Gary Elementary, McDowell County Jumping Branch Elementary, Summers County Kenna Elementary, Kanawha County Ona Elementary, Cabell County Ramage Elementary, Boone County West Milford Elementary, Harrison County Bridgeport Middle, Harrison County Park Middle, Raleigh County South Harrison Middle, Harrison County East Hardy High, Hardy County Moorefield High, Hardy County WVDE Barboursville School, Office of Institutional Education Programs  

Gary Elementary and Jumping Branch Elementary are the first schools in their counties to achieve the School of Excellence honor. The Barboursville School is the first institutional school to earn the recognition, as well.  

For more information regarding West Virginia Schools of Excellence, please contact Mr. Tony Smedley, Executive Director for the Office of Human Resources, at (304) 558-3401.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.