WVDE Staff Directory

WVDE Organizational Chart

West Virginia Board of Education

West Virginia Board of Education

  • Office Phone: 304-558-3660
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/state-board-of-education/

  • Virginia Harris, Executive Assistant
    (vharris@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3660

  • Office Topics: Policy 1241 - Notice and Conduct of Meetings, Policy 1242 - WV Board of Education Policy Making Process, Policy 1340 - Rules and Procedures for Administrative Hearings and Appeals, Policy 3235 - Definition of Good Cause for Failure to Receive School Board Training, West Virginia Board of Education

State Superintendent of Schools

Superintendent

  • Office Phone: 304-558-2681
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/state-superintendent/

  • W. Burch, Superintendent of Schools
    (superintendent@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2681

  • Darcel Vermillion, Executive Assistant
    (dvermill@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2681

  • Office Topics: Policy 2436.10 - Participation in extracurricular activities, Policy 5500.02 - County Service Personnel Staff Development Councils, State Strategic Plan, Waivers of WVBE Policy

Deputy & Assistant Superintendent

Finance & Internal Operations

Legal Services

  • Office Phone: 304-558-3667
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/legal-services/

  • Heather Hutchens, General Counsel
    (hhutchens@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3667

  • Drew McClanahan, Director, Government Relations
    (dmcclanahan@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3667

  • Stephanie Abraham, Attorney
    (stephanie.abraham@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-3667

  • James Agee, Investigator
    (james.agee@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3667

  • Marlene Price, Executive Secretary
    (mprice@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3667

  • Kelli Talbott, Attorney
    (kelli.talbott@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-3667

  • Office Topics: Administrative Hearings, Freedom of Information Act (FOIAs), Intercounty Student Transfer, Investigations, Level III Conflict Resolution, Level IV Citizen's Appeal, Licensure Denial/ Revocation, Policy 1230 - Freedom of Information Requests, Policy 1241 - Notice and Conduct of Meetings, Policy 1242 - WV Board of Education Policy Making Process, Policy 1340 - Rules and Procedures for Administrative Hearings and Appeals, Policy 3300 - Public Charter Schools, Policy 4200 - Provision of Equal Opportunity in WV Public Schools, Policy 5000 - Procedures for Designated Hiring and Transfer of School Personnel, Policy 5314 - Service Personnel Responsibilities and Performance Standards, Policy 5612 - Use of Personal Leave Benefits with Workers' Compensation Benefits, Policy 7200 - Intercounty Transfer Arrangement, Policy 7211 - Conflict Resolution Process for Citizens, Policy 7212 - Intercounty Student Transfer Appeal, School Law Books, Superintendent's Interpretations

Human Resources

  • Office Phone: 304-558-2702
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/human-resources/

  • Taran Wolford, Director
    (taran.wolford@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-2702

  • Teresa Conner, Program Specialist
    (tconner@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2702

  • Brenda Freed, Program Specialist
    (bfreed@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2702

  • Marlena Mullins, Program Specialist
    (mdmullins@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2702

  • Office Topics: Staffing/Recruitment; Onboarding for New Employees; Employee Relations/EEO; HRMS/Employment Records Management; WVDE Policy Compliance; Title IX; FMLA/PLA; Worker’s Compensation; Employee Payroll & Benefits; WVDE Parking

Certification

  • Office Phone: 304-558-7010
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/certification/

  • Robert Hagerman, Director
    (rhagerma@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7010

  • Mona Bowe, Program Assistant
    (mbowe@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7010

  • Emily Curry, Coordinator
    (emily.curry@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7010

  • Brad Fittro, Coordinator
    (bfittro@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7010

  • Tabetha Gillespie, Coordinator
    (tabetha.gillespie@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-7010

  • Christina Haymaker, Coordinator
    (chaymaker@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7010

  • Sherri Hudnall, Program Assistant
    (shudnall@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7010

  • Julie Morris, Coordinator
    (jlmmorri@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7010

  • Naomi Taylor, Program Assistant
    (naomi.taylor@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-7010

  • Lori Wilson, Coordinator
    (llbuchan@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7010

  • Office Topics: Licensure; Certification; Alternative Certification; Advanced Salary Classification; WV Commission for Professional Teaching Standards; National Board fees and Tuition Reimbursement; Salary Supplements (Professional Teaching and Student Support); Background Checks; Title II (Higher Education and County Schools); Future Leaders Program (WV National Guard); Teacher Shortage

Communications

Office of Federal Programs & Support

ESEA Programs

  • Office Website:

  • Sheri Fulks, Program Assistant
    (shoylman@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7805

  • Mami Itamochi, Coordinator
    (mitamochi@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7805

  • Elizabeth McCoy, Program Specialist
    (eamccoy@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7805

  • Michelle Moore-Leftwich, Coordinator
    (mmoore@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7805

  • Laura Pauley, Director
    (lepauley@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-7805

  • Carrie Reeves, Coordinator
    (cbreeves@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7805

  • Office Topics: State Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) Plan, Grant administration and monitoring for all ESEA Programs (Title I, Title II – High Quality Instruction, Title III- English Language Learners, Title IV-A Academic Enrichment, Title V- Rural and Low Income Schools), WV International School, County Strategic Plans, Grants and Planning System (GPS) Technical Assistance, Pandemic Education Stabilization Funding (ESSER, EANS, and GEER), ESSA Foster Care Point of Contact, Equitable Service Ombudsman

Officer of Federal Programs

  • Office Phone: 304-558-7805
    Office Website:

  • Melanie Purkey, Federal Programs Officer
    (mpurkey@k12.wv.us), phone 558-7805

Student Support & Well-being

Child Nutrition

Special Education

Office of Support & Accountability

Officer of Accountability

  • Office Phone: 304-558-3199
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/support-accountability/

  • Charlene Coburn, Accountability Officer
    (ccoburn@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Jenelle Brooks, Secretary IIIA
    (jmosley@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Travis Gibson, Program Specialist
    (travis.gibson@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Office Topics: Policy 5309 - County Superintendent Performance Evaluations, Policy 5800 - Rules for Required Qualities, Proficiencies and Leadership Skills for Principals and Superintendents, Accountability

Leadership Support

  • Office Phone: 304-558-3199
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/leadership-system-support/

  • Jessica Austin, Coordinator
    (jessica.austin@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Derek Lambert, Manager
    (drlambert@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Kerri Templeton, Coordinator
    (ktempleton@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-3199

  • Office Topics: Policy 5800 - Standards of Professional Practice for WV Superintendents, Principals, and Teacher Leaders; Beginning and Aspiring Principal Leadership Network; Experienced Principal Leadership Network; Evaluation Leadership Institution (ELI); WV Standards for Effective Schools; Policy 4373 - Expected Behavior in Safe and Supportive Schools; Discipline; Bullying; Safe Schools; School Culture; Student Code of Conduct; West Virginia School Learning Environment Survey (WVSLES)

School Improvement

  • Office Phone: 304-558-3199
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/school-improvement

  • Margaret Williamson, Director
    (mgwillia@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Stacey Losh, Coordinator
    (stacey.losh@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Eva Marcum, Coordinator
    (emarcum@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Amanda Mays, Coordinator
    (amanda.mays@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-3199

  • Sabrina Skidmore, Coordinator
    (smskidmo@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-3199

  • Office Topics: Comprehensive Support and Improvement (CSI) Schools; Diagnostic Reviews; Culture Survey; School & School System Support/Improvement; WV Standards for Effective Schools; Policy 4110 – Attendance; Chronic Absenteeism; Open Enrollment; Policy 5310 - Performance Evaluation of School Personnel; Educator Evaluation Support Platform Support

Accountability

  • Office Phone: 304-558-3199
    Office Website:

  • Matthew Hicks, Director
    (mhicks@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Jonah Adkins, Coordinator
    (jwadkins@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Alexandra Criner, Coordinator
    (alexandra.criner@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Stacey Murrell, Coordinator
    (slmurrell@k12.wv.us), phone 558-3199

  • Office Topics: State System of Support (SSOS); WV Standards for Effective Schools; Accountability Technical Support; Annual School Accreditation; Annual County Approval Status; Special Circumstance Reviews; Monthly Meetings with Counties Following Reviews; Technical Assistance and Support for Low Performing Counties; Schools of Excellence; Blue Ribbon Schools; Local School Improvement Councils (LSICs); Crisis Intervention Plans; Policy 5902 - Employee Code of Conduct; Local School Board Annual Appraisal

Office of Teaching & Learning

Officer of Teaching & Learning

  • Office Phone: 304-558-8098
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/teaching-learning/

  • Sonya White, Teaching & Learning Officer
    (snjwhite@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Carrie Christy, Secretary IIIA
    (cchristy@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Jennie Gill, Secretary III
    (jennifer.l.gill@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Denise Husson, Secretary IIIA
    (dhusson@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Kelly Massinople, Coordinator
    (kelly.massinople@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-8098

  • Jody Wilkinson, Program Specialist
    (jwilkinson@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Office Topics: Content Standards/Instruction for pre-K through grade 12, Regulations for Education Programs, Policy 2510 Series (content standards) West Virginia statewide general assessment program, Instructional Resources, Professional Learning, Educator Development and Support, West Virginia Virtual School

Early & Elementary Learning

Middle & Secondary Learning

Assessment

  • Office Phone: 304-558-8098
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/assessment/

  • Vaughn Rhudy, Director
    (vrhudy@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Vickie Baker, Coordinator
    (vbaker@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Timothy Butcher, Coordinator
    (tbutcher@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Joseph Mastracci, Coordinator
    (jmastracci@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Jason Perdue, Coordinator
    (jperdue@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Sonja Phillips, Coordinator
    (sonja.phillips@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8098

  • Office Topics: West Virginia General Summative Assessment, West Virginia Alternate Summative Assessment, High School College- and Career-Readiness Assessment, Interim and Diagnostic Assessments, NAEP, International Assessments (i.e., TIMMS, PISA, PIRLS, etc.), Test Security

Educator Development & Support

Office of Data Management & Information Systems

Officer of Technology

  • Office Phone: 304-558-8869
    Office Website:

  • Timothy Conzett, Technology Officer
    (tim.conzett@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8869

  • Ilesa Casto, Program Assistant
    (ijcasto@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8869

  • Cyndi Fizer, Secretary IIIA
    (cfizer@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8869

  • Jennifer Kozak, Secretary IIIA
    (jkozak@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8869

  • Amanda Netzer, Program Assistant
    (anetzer@k12.wv.us), phone 558-8869

  • Office Topics: E-Rate, Technology System Specialists, Tools for Schools, County Technical Assistance

Data Analysis & Research

Infrastructure & Network Operations

WV Education Information System (WVEIS)

Office of School Operations & Finance

Officer of School Operations

School Facilities

School Transportation

School Finance

Office of Technical & Adult Education

Officer of Technical Education

Career Technical Education

  • Office Phone: 304-558-2389
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/technical-education/

  • Rick Gillman, Director
    (rgillman@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Deanna Canterbury-Penn, Coordinator
    (dpenn@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • James Coble, Coordinator
    (jcoble@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Timothy Elliott, Coordinator
    (tbelliott@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Sally Finchum, Program Specialist
    (sfinchum@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Patricia Givens, Program Assistant
    (pgivens@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Ellen Killion, Coordinator
    (ekillion@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Tami Maynard, Coordinator
    (tmmaynar@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Rachael McKean, Program Assistant
    (rachael.mckean@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-2389

  • Nathan Taylor, Coordinator
    (netaylor@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Frank Tetrick, Coordinator
    (ftetrick@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Ashley Torres, Coordinator
    (atorres@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Sarah Wamsley, Coordinator
    (swamsley@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-2389

  • Office Topics: Secondary CTE Funding and Accountability, CTE Instructor Certification, Policies 2520.13, 2444.4 and 3232, CTE Skills Sets and Standards, CTE Program Development, Simulated Workplace, Student Industry Credentials, Career Technical Student Organizations (CTSOs), Discover Your Future, Embedded Credit, Albert Yanni Scholarships, National Technical Honor Society, WV Welcome, High School Equivalency Testing, Option Pathway, Nursing Pathway, Entrepreneurship Pathway and B&I Technical Assistance

CTE Services & Support

  • Office Phone: 304-558-2389
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/governors-economic-initiatives/

  • Adam Canter, Director
    (ccanter@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Veronica Barron, Coordinator
    (vbarron@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Tara Burch, Coordinator
    (tcombs@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Doug Cipoletti, Coordinator
    (dccipole@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Cydney Eades, Program Assistant
    (cydney.eades@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-2389

  • Angie Gardner, Coordinator
    (angie.gardner@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Erik Hawkins, Coordinator
    (erik.hawkins@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Alyssa Keedy-White, Coordinator
    (alyssa.keedy@k12.wv.us), phone 558-2389

  • Office Topics: Advanced Career Education (ACE), Classroom 2 Career, CTE/ACE Funding & Accountability, ACE Advantage, Council on Occupational Education (COE) Accreditation, CTE Technical Assessments, CTE WVEIS Support, EDGE, Economic Projects Impacting Communities (EPIC) Grants, Governor’s Workforce Credential, Carl D. Perkins V Grant, Perkins Civil Rights, SREB – Tech Centers That Work (TCTW), Business & Industry Partnerships, US Presidential CTE Scholarships, Service Personnel Competency Testing, Workforce Initiatives and Apprenticeships

Adult Education

  • Office Phone: 304-558-0280
    Office Website: https://wvde.us/adult-education/

  • Mendy Marshall, Director
    (mamarsha@k12.wv.us), phone 558-0280

  • Sandra Adkins, Coordinator
    (sandra.adkins@k12.wv.us), phone 558-0280

  • Timothy Anderson, Coordinator
    (tjanderson@k12.wv.us), phone 558-0280

  • Amy Boggess, Program Assistant
    (albogges@k12.wv.us), phone 558-0280

  • Rebecca Metzger, Coordinator
    (rmetzger@k12.wv.us), phone 304-558-0280

  • Office Topics: Workforce Investment Opportunity Act (WIOA), Adult Education, High School Equivalency Preparation, Employment and Work Ready Skills, Transition to Post-Secondary Education and Training, Distance Education, Career Pathways, English as a Second Language, Industry Recognized Certifications, US Citizenship Civic Test Prep, Public Service Training, SPOKES and TANF Assessment

WV Schools for the Deaf and the Blind

WV Schools for the Deaf and the Blind

WV Schools of Diversion and Transition

WV Schools of Diversion and Transition