Brooke Teacher Named Teacher of the Year; Curry, Reed Named Principal of Year

November 17, 1999

Ede Ashworth, a Latin and Spanish teacher at Brooke High School in Brooke County, was named the 2000 West Virginia Teacher of the Year at a ceremony held this evening at the Charleston Marriott.  

State Superintendent Dr. Henry Marockie made the announcement during an Educators of the Year awards program that honored Ashworth, other county winners and West Virginia's 2000 Principal of the Year winners.  

"Ede Ashworth is an outstanding representative of West Virginia's teaching corps and will represent the state well in the national Teacher of the Year competition," Dr. Marockie said. "She is an exemplary teacher who is respected by her peers and is considered to be among the best at her profession."  

"The relationships I have developed with my students are among the accomplishments which I value the most," Ashworth wrote on her application form. "I take great pride in seeing my former students succeed in their chosen fields of endeavor and encourage them to come back to share their experiences with current students who are considering what to do with their lives."  

Ashworth was selected from a field of 47 candidates that was narrowed to eight finalists.  

The other finalists were: Norma McDonie, Cabell County; Betty Smith, Hancock County; Joann Brookover, Marion County; David Legg, Putnam County; Karen Ivey, Raleigh County; Tanya Barker, Ritchie County; and Jima Dunigan, Wyoming County.  

A 26-year teacher, Ashworth has received numerous awards and honors during her distinguished career, including: Brooke County Teacher of the Year, 2000; "Those Who Care Teach" award from the Brooke County Education Association, 1997; Milken Family Foundation National Educator Of the Year, 1990; Outstanding Foreign Language Teacher of the Year Award from the West Virginia Foreign Language Teachers Association, 1988; and the WTRF-TV Outstanding Educator Award, 1988.  

Teacher of the Year is the longest ongoing awards program honoring classroom teachers. It is sponsored by the Council of Chief State School Officers and Scholastic, Inc.  

Also this evening, the 2000 West Virginia Principal of the Year winners were announced by Superintendent Marockie. John Curry, Eastern Greenbrier Junior High School principal, Greenbrier County; and Judith Reed, Ravenswood Middle School principal, Jackson County, were named as co-winners of the prestigious award.  

"These two principals are outstanding leaders and innovative educators," Dr. Marockie said. "Through effective and resourceful leadership, John Curry and Judith Reed have worked with their dedicated, hard-working staffs to create two of West Virginia's exemplary schools."  

Under Curry's leadership, Eastern Greenbrier Junior High School received West Virginia School of Excellence and West Virginia Blue Ribbon School awards for the 1999-2000 school year. A principal at Ravenswood Middle School since 1995, Reed has transformed her school into a high-tech, high-achieving model for the state.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information visit:
Teacher of the Year 2000