Pleasants County School Nurse Named 2004 School Nurse of the Year

April 20, 2004

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - A Pleasants County school nurse was named the 2004 West Virginia School Nurse of the Year today at a ceremony in Charleston. Patricia Mays has devoted more than 20 years to school nursing.  

Mays earned her bachelor’s of science degree in Nursing from Alderson Broaddus College in 1965. She continued her education and became a nurse practitioner in 1989.  

Mays has collaborated on many projects in and outside of Pleasants County. Because of her collaborative efforts, she has enabled all high school seniors to be CPR and AED certified.  

She strives to improve healthcare in Pleasants County and around the state. Her focus has always been on the entire community. With that focus, she initiated, planned and implemented the School-based Health Center in her county.  

“School nurses are such an invaluable asset to the school system, not only in West Virginia, but across the nation,” said State Schools Superintendent David Stewart. “I commend all school nurses for promoting good health and wellness to all of our students, faculty and staff.”  

The other four finalists were: Diana Boggs, Kanawha County; Randy Hulse, Jefferson County; Lois McCutcheon, Monroe County; and Libbyann Sayre, Jackson County  

Mays succeeds 2003 West Virginia School Nurse of the Year Cynthia Stark of Raleigh County.  

The West Virginia Board of Education established the WV School Nurse of the Year program in 1996 to recognize the outstanding work done by all school nurses throughout the state.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.