31 WV Teachers to Be Honored for Earning National Board Certification

April 02, 2002

Thirty-one West Virginia teachers will be honored tonight for achieving the teaching profession’s highest credential– National Board Certification. The educators were notified in December by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards that they had passed the rigorous assessment and had earned the symbol of teaching excellence.  

The ceremony will take place at 7:00 p.m., Tuesday, April 2, in the theatre of the West Virginia Cultural Center, Charleston. The teachers will be honored by State Superintendent Dr. David Stewart, Gov. Bob Wise and members of the State Board of Education. Nancy Schwartz, director of state and local relations for the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards, will also be on hand to salute the educators.  

West Virginia teachers to be honored are: Cabell County: Kathryn Ann Weekly; Harrison County: Mary Devono; Kanawha County: Phyllis Duvall, Gale Pukall and Michelle Shomo; Logan County: Sandra Butcher and Katherine Manley; Marion County: Mary Adams; Mineral County: Susan Long; Mingo County: Christine Cline; Monongalia County: Linda Elaine Dlugos, Linda Hennen, Tracy Sell Chico, Jeanne Kay Taylor and Sarah Ann Wilson; Nicholas County: Peggy Crowe; Putnam County: Barbara Black and Carla Warren; Raleigh County: Sandra Sheatsley; Summers County: Deborah Dunn Clark; Wayne County: William Chaffin, Barbara Christain, Dinah Ledbetter, Stephanie May, Alicia Spears, Jaylen Kay Turner, and Kelly Watts; Wood County: Mary Jane Carder, Shelia Edwards, and Susan Williams; and Wyoming County: Linda Lester.  

For more information about national certification, contact the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Professional Preparation at 1-800-982-2378 or 304-558-7010.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.