Seven W.Va. Public School Students Named Presidential Scholar Semifinalists

May 10, 2012

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Seven West Virginia public school students have been named 2012 United States Presidential Scholars semifinalists, one of the nation's highest honors for high school seniors.  

Varun Menon of Martinsburg High School, Berkeley County; Nicholas Stinson of Princeton High School, Mercer County; Swetha Doppalapudi and Andrew Maloney of Morgantown High School, Hannah Moore of University High School, Monongalia County; Maggie Jones of Elkins High School, Randolph County; and Carl Fernandes of Parkersburg High School, Wood County. The students, all high school seniors, are among 550 semifinalists selected from about 3.2 million graduating seniors nationwide.

 “I offer my congratulations to all of the semifinalists for their hard work and dedication to their studies,” said state Schools Superintendent Jorea Marple. “This achievement will open the door to numerous educational opportunities and I wish them continued success.”  

Students named semifinalists were chosen for their academic achievement, artistic excellence, leadership, citizenship, service and contribution to school and community.   Those who go on to be named Presidential Scholars will receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. during National Recognition Week and will be awarded the Presidential Scholars medallion. The four-day celebration includes educational seminars, meetings with representatives of the three branches of government, a morning of community service, an exhibition of scholars’ artwork and a public performance in the Concert Hall of the Kennedy Center by the Presidential Scholars in the Arts. Winners also are scheduled to meet with the president.  

The Presidential Scholars program was established in 1964 to honor academic achievement and was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts. It does not carry any monetary award.  

Since 1983, scholars also have invited their most inspirational teacher to travel with them to Washington, D.C., to participate in events. The teachers also receive a Teacher Recognition Award from the U.S. Department of Education.

For more information, contact the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Communication at (304) 558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.