W.Va. Career Technical Students Receive Scholarships

May 07, 2012

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Twenty-one career technical students are the recipients of $2,000 each as 2012-2013 Yanni Scholarship winners.

The award is named in memory of Albert Yanni, a high school machine trades instructor at John Marshall High School in Marshall County and a member of the West Virginia House of Delegates. To qualify, students must have completed a career and technical education concentration.

Winners are Berkeley County, James Rumsey Technical Institute, Joshua Rener; Boone,  Boone Career and Technical Center, Hannah Marie Sayre, Kayla Ball, Johnney Ray Hager II, Miranda Jeffery and Victoria Shreve; Brooke, Brooke High School, Emily Sloat; Fayette, Fayette Institute of Technology, Daonna Fox; Greenbrier, Greenbrier East High School, Isabelle Rogner; Marshall, John Marshall High School, Ryan Gellner and Andrew Marchlenski; Mason, Mason County Career Center, Wesley Davis and Amanda King; Mineral, Mineral County Technical Center, Katelyn Haupt, Amber Streets and Breana Eversole; Randolph, Randolph Technical Center, Morgan Scott; Wayne, Spring Valley Career and Technical, Alexis Parsons and Paxton O’Bryan; Webster, Webster County High School, Brittany Ann Bender; and Wood, Wood County Technical Center, Alexandria Stoops.

“These students should be proud of their accomplishments,” said state Superintendent of Schools Jorea Marple. “Today’s career and technical centers are preparing students for a global economy that is vastly different from the environment that ushered in public school vocational education nearly a century ago. Career and technical education now is characterized by ever-changing market demands, increasingly sophisticated technology and a need for a more thorough knowledge rather than narrow job tasks.”

The Yanni winners have an average GPA of 3.84 and plan to attend 14 different post-secondary institutions. Five of the scholarship recipients plan to attend a West Virginia community college and four are considering out-of-state schools. Future majors include engineering, nursing, biology/pre-med, pharmacy, business and agribusiness, among many others.

For more information, contact Gene Coulson with the Office of Career and Technical Innovation at 304-558-2389, or the Office of Communication at 304-558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.