W.Va. Department of Education Honors Young Writers

May 08, 2009

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – More than 300 aspiring writers were honored Friday during the 2009 Young Writers Celebration Day at the University of Charleston. The annual statewide competition recognizes and encourages writing excellence from first grade to high school.

“Writing is one of the most important skills for academic and professional success,” West Virginia Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine said. “As we prepare students for the 21st century, clear communication through writing is more important than ever.”  

Winners are: Grades 1-2, Rachel Cogar, Gihon Elementary, Wood County; Grades 3-4 Taylor Griffith, Madison School, Boone County; Grades 5-6, Andrew Bohman, Buckhannon-Upshur Middle, Upshur County; Grades 7-8, Shelby Anderson, Tucker Valley Elementary Middle, Tucker County; Grades 9-10, Connie Callison, Meadow Bridge High, Fayette County; and Grades 11-12, Kristen Epling, Matewan High, Mingo County. Joseph Ta, a senior at Capital High in Kanawha County, also received the $750 Barbara W. Walters Scholarship.
Musician Ron Sowell from West Virginia Public Radio’s “Mountain Stage” delivered the keynote address. The day’s events also included recognition of all winners and the awarding of digital cameras.
The Young Writers Contest is sponsored by the West Virginia Department of Education, Marshall University Graduate College, the University of Charleston and the Charleston Daily Mail.
For more information, contact Terry L. Reale, English/language arts coordinator for the West Virginia Department of Education, at (304) 558-5325, extension 53274, or the Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699.  

Download the complete list of winners here.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.