30 WV Schools Receive $300,000 for Reading Programs

February 24, 1999

Thirty West Virginia schools are the first recipients of the WV READS grant awards to provide summer and extended day reading programs for students in grades K-3. WV READS was a result of legislation passed in 1998 to ensure that every student in the public schools is reading at grade level prior to the conclusion of grade 4.  

The 30 schools announced today will each receive $10,000 to offer innovative programs essential to children achieving literacy. A WV READS Advisory Board, that was appointed by the West Virginia Board of Education in September, established the competitive grant criteria and judged the awards.  

"Reading is the single most important skill that a child needs to be successful in his or her lifetime," said State Superintendent Dr. Henry Marockie. "The monies from these grants will allow counties to offer research-driven, proven strategies that will enhance the reading abilities of young people," Marockie noted.  

Schools receiving grant awards are:  

Barbour County - Mt. Vernon Elementary Cabell County - Spring Hill Elementary Calhoun County - Arnoldsburg/Pleasant Hill Elementary Clay County - Ivydale Elementary Doddridge County - West Union Elementary Fayette County - Oak Hill Elementary Grant County - Petersburg Elementary Greenbrier County - Ranielle Elementary and Junior High Hampshire County - Romney Elementary Harrison County - Adamston Elementary Kanawha County - Alban Elementary Lincoln County - Hamlin Elementary Logan County - Chapmanville Elementary Marion County - Blackshere Elementary Marshall County - ParkView Parent Center Mason County - Central Elementary Mercer County - Thorn Elementary Mineral County - all elementary schools Monongalia County - Woodburn Elementary Nicholas County - Birch River Elementary Ohio County - Elm Grove Elementary Preston County - Tunnelton Denver Elementary Ritchie County - Harrisville Elementary Taylor County - Anna Jarvis Elementary Tucker County - Davis/Thomas and Tucker Valley Elementary/Middle Wayne County - Wayne Elementary Wetzel County - Long Drain Elementary Wirt County - Wirt County Primary Center Wood County - Jefferson Elementary Wyoming County - Huff Consolidated  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.