West Virginia Recognizes Young Writers During 2016 Young Writers Day Ceremony

May 13, 2016

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Young writers from across West Virginia were recognized Friday during the 2016 Young Writers Day celebration at the University of Charleston. The annual West Virginia Young Writers Contest encourages teachers and administrators to emphasize the importance of excellent writing skills for students.

“Writing is a skill that emphasizes critical thinking and learning at the highest levels,” said West Virginia Superintendent of Schools Dr. Michael Martirano. “These young people have demonstrated that they not only have grasped the concepts of writing, but that they excel at those skills, and that is worthy of recognition.”

The following students were awarded first place on the state level:

  • 1-2 Grade: Savannah Lilly, Mingo County
  • 3-4 Grade: Turner Garretson, Calhoun County
  • 5-6 Grade: Aria Schoon, Mason County
  • 7-8 Grade: Anneleise Rockacy, Grant County
  • 9-10 Grade: Skylar Lane, Mineral County
  • 11-12 Grade: Miranda Smith, Mingo County

State-level first place winners received checks for $100, second place winners received $50 and third-place finishers received $25. First place county winners received commemorative certificates and were treated to workshops with published authors during the event.

Bil Lepp, five-time champion of the West Virginia Liars Contest and a storyteller for more than 15 years, delivered the keynote presentation. He also led a writing workshop along with other published authors from the region.

The Young Writers Contest has celebrated the best student writing in the state for over 30 years. Students qualify for the state competition by winning their county’s contest in one of six grade categories: 1-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-10, and 11-12. The contest is a collaborative effort between the West Virginia Department of Education and Marshall University’s Central West Virginia Writing Project.

For additional information, contact the West Virginia Department of Education Office of Communications at 304-558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.