West Virginia Gains 55 National Board Certified Teachers

June 12, 2014

NBCT 2014

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) and the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) announced that 55 teachers in West Virginia achieved National Board Certification this year, demonstrating that they have attained the knowledge and skills necessary to prepare students for success in college and career. For 2013, West Virginia ranks 20th in the number of teachers who certified this year. The total number of National Board Certified Teachers (NBCT) in the state is 750, making it 25th in the nation.

"We're thrilled to celebrate the achievement of our new NBCTs," said state Superintendent of Schools Jim Phares. "Their achievement is not only a testament to their hard work, determination and impact on their students' learning, it is a reflection of the state's strong commitment to supporting all teachers in their pursuit of National Board Certification."

"Achieving National Board Certification is not only a great personal achievement, it is a strong statement about a teacher's commitment to the profession and to students and their learning," said Ronald Thorpe, president and CEO of the National Board.

Berkeley County leads this year's list of newly certified teachers with 16 new NBCTs, bringing their total to 60, passing Cabell County for second place for counties with the most NBCTs.  Wood County certified four teachers this year and keeps the top spot in the state in total number of NBCTs per county with 86. The top five counties are:  Wood, 86; Berkeley, 60; Cabell, 59; Monongalia, 52; and Putnam, 37. 

West Virginia's 55 teachers receiving national certification in 2013 are:

April Bageant, Samara Bennett, Jessica Butcher, Teresa Campbell, Helen Colburn, Rachel Eversole, Rhonda Foreman, Lauren Funderburk, Elizabeth Hamman, Brande Hockensmith, Amy Mason, Cheryl Reid, Michele Santos, Candee Schneider, Colleen Shipley and Kimberly Starner.
Marsha Raker
Michele Goodson
Jeffrey Owens
Donna Carnes, Lynn Elliott, Jennifer Hardy and Rikki Regan
Kelley Adcock
Amanda Rinard
William Dorsey, June Klassen, Emily Patterson and Kelly Plutro
Toni Poling
Laura Presley
Misty Benedict
Kevin Colistra, Melissa Forinash and Jessica Nelson
Gail Adams, Meredith Dailer, Courtney Troullos, Kristy Villani and Ryan Young
Sherri Lyons, Maureen Miller, Tina Myers, Keisha Runion and Marjorie Snyder
Jada Bradley, Jamie Harvey and Allison Shriver
Corey Humphrey and Stacy Ward
Brent Kimble
Susan Grandick, Linda Hindman, Candace Lewis and Vicki Ruble

Founded in 1987, the NBPTS is an independent, non-profit, non-partisan, non-governmental organization. Its mission is to establish high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. National Board Certification NBC is a voluntary assessment program designed to recognize and reward great teachers — and make them better.

For more information about NBPTS and National Board Certification, contact the WVDE Office of Professional Preparation at (304) 558-7010 or the Communication Office at 304-558-2699. Information also is available on the NBPTS website at http://www.nbpts.org/ and the WVDE website at wvde.state.wv.us/nationalboard.

Photo gallery

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.