Board Conference Room

  Capitol Building 6, Room 353

  1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East

Charleston, West Virginia

January 3, 2007




I. Call to Order


  President Lowell E. Johnson (via telephone) called the meeting of the West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) to order at 11:03 a.m. on January 3, 2007, in the Board Conference Room, Capitol Building 6, Room 353, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia.


  The following members were present:  President Johnson, Vice President Delores W. Cook (via telephone), Secretary Priscilla M. Haden (via telephone), Robert W. Dunlevy (via telephone), Barbara N. Fish (via telephone), Burma Hatfield (via telephone), and Jenny N. Phillips (via telephone), and ex officio Steven L. Paine, State Superintendent of Schools.  Members absent were Ronald B. Spencer and ex officios Brian E. Noland, Chancellor, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and James L. Skidmore, Chancellor, West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education.


II.  Approval of Agenda


  Upon motion by Mr. Dunlevy, seconded by Ms. Hatfield, the Board unanimously approved the agenda.


III.  Policy 2419, Regulations for the Education of Students with Exceptionalities


  Dr. Lynn Boyer, Executive Director, Office of Special Programs, Extended and Early Learning, Division of Curriculum and Instructional Services, in response to comments received at public hearings, requests from professional organizations, and a change in the date of the final public hearing to be held in RESA VIII, requested that the Board extend the comment period of Policy 2419 to January 12, 2007. 


  Upon motion by Ms. Phillips, seconded by Mrs. Cook, the Board unanimously extended the comment period for Policy 2419 to January 12, 2007.






 - 2 -


IV. Future Meetings


  The West Virginia Board of Education’s Communications Committee will meet January 8, 2007 in Charleston, West Virginia.  The West Virginia Board of Education will meet in regular session on January 10-11, 2007 in Charleston, West Virginia.


V.  Adjournment


  Upon motion by Mr. Dunlevy, seconded by Mrs. Fish and unanimously carried, the meeting adjourned at 11:15 a.m.


    Minutes approved by the Board on February15, 2007.





  Lowell E. Johnson, President




  Priscilla M. Haden, Secretary


Minutes were recorded by

Virginia M. Harris

 Executive Secretary to

the Board.