Office of
Special Programs

Name Responsibilities Email Address
Pat Homberg
Executive Director
* Statewide Leadership
* Policy/Legislation
* Interagency Councils
* State Advisory Council
* ESEA Waiver RESAs 4,6
phomberg@access.k12.wv.us
Ghaski Browning
Assistant Director
* IDEA Part B Monitoring
* Accountability
* ESEA Waiver RESAs 1, 3 
 glee@access.k12.wv.us
Christi Chambers, Ed.D.
Assistant Director
* Professional Development
* Program Improvement
* ESEA Waiver RESAs 2,7 
cdchambe@access.k12.wv.us 
Sandra McQuain, Ed.D
Assistant Director 
* Fiscal
* Data
* Targeted Programs
* ESEA Waiver RESAs 5, 8
 smcquain@access.k12.wv.us
Susan Beck
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring (RESA 1, 2, 4)
* SPP/APR Indicator #15 (Prong 2)
* Specific Learning Disability
* Other Health Impairment
* Subgroup Intervention - Support for Personalized Learning
sbeck@access.k12.wv.us 
JoDonna Burdoff
Coordinator, RESA 7
* Autism
* Early Childhood Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports
* Subgroup Intervention - Positive School Climate
* ESEA Waiver RESA 7
jburdoff@access.k12.wv.us  
Annette Carey
Coordinator
* Deafness/Hard-of-Hearing
* Blindness and Low Vision
* Deafblindness OSEP Project
* NxG Essential and Community Elements
* ESEA Waiver RESA 1
acarey@access.k12.wv.us  
 Lorraine Ciambotti-Elswick
Coordinator
* Formal Written Complaints
* SPP/APR Indicators #4, 9, 10
* Special Education Forms
* Subgroup Intervention - Universal Design For Learning
* ESEA Waiver RESA 1
lciambot@access.k12.wv.us  
 Matthew Dotson
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring (RESA 3, 7, 8)
* SPP/APR Indicator #15 (Prong 2)
* WVSSAC
*Subgroup Intervention - Service Delivery
ddotson@access.k12.wv.us  
Mary Pat Ferrell
Coordinator
* Intellectual Disability
* Mathematics
* Subgroup Intervention - Mathematics Academy
* ESEA Waiver RESA 2
mfarrell@access.k12.wv.us  
Paula Fields
Coordinator
* Community Schools
* School Health Services
* Community Services
* School-Based Mental Health
* School Counseling
prfields@access.k12.wv.us  
Kathy Hudnall
Coordinator
* Formal Written Complaints
* Special Education Leadership Academies
* Due Process/Mediation Backup
* Personnel Retention/ Recruitment/Institutions of Higher Education
* Subgroup Intervention - Differentiated Instruction
* ESEA Waiver RESA 4
khhudnal@access.k12.wv.us  
Ginger Huffman
Coordinator
* Developmental Delay
* SPP/APR Indicators #6, 7, 12
* Subgroup Intervention - Problem-Solving Process
* ESEA Waiver RESA 1
vhuffman@access.k12.wv.us 
Lanai Jennings
Coordinator
* SPP/APR
* Data Management
* Evaluation/Eligibility
* Subgroup Intervention - Data Collection and Assessment System
*ESEA Waiver RESA 5
ljennings@access.k12.wv.us 
Rebecca King
Coordinator
*School Health Services
*School Nursing
*School Nurse Needs assessment
* Section 504 and IDEA
* Health/Physical Education
rjking@access.k12.wv.us 
Ruth Ann King
Contracted
* Deaf/blindness OSEP Project
raking@access.k12.wv.us 
Kathy Knighton
Coordinator
* Personnel Retention/ Recruitment/Institutions of Higher Education
* Camp Gizmo
* Speech/Language Impairment
* Assistive Technology
* Subgroup Intervention - Vocabulary
* ESEA Waiver RESA 3
kknighto@access.k12.wv.us 
Michael Knighton
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring (Counties)
* Online IEP
* Orthopedic Impairment
* Subgroup Intervention - Individualized Education Program
* ESEA Waiver RESA 3
mknighto@access.k12.wv.us 
Vickie Mohnacky
Coordinator
* Gifted Education
* Medicaid
* Subgroup Intervention - Cognitive Strategy Instruction
* Arts Education
vmohnack@access.k12.wv.us 
Anne Monterosso
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring (RESA 5, 6)
* SPP/APR Indicator #15 (Prong 2)
* SPP/APR Indicator #13 (Pre Prong 2)
* Subgroup Intervention - Basic Core Strategies for Dropout Prevention
amontero@access.k12.wv.us 
Ellen Oderman
Coordinator
* English/Language Arts
* Technical Assistance Support Specialists
* Prefessional Development
* Subgroup Intervention - Teaching and Learning Academy
coderman@access.k12.wv.us 
Sheila Paitsel
Coordinator
* Out-Of-State
* Data Management
* Emotional/Behavioral Disorders
Social Studies
* Subgroup Intervention - Informative/Classroom Assessment
* Compliance Monitoring OIEP, WVSDB
* Subgroup Intervention - Early Warning System
* ESEA Waiver RESA 7
sgpaitsel@access.k12.wv.us 
Betsy Peterson
Coordinator
* Parent Educator Resource Centers
* SPP/APR Indicator #8
* West Virginia Advisory Council for the Education of Exceptional Children
* Traumatic Brain Injury
* WVDE Parent Phone Calls
* Subgroup Intervention - Scaffolding
* ESEA Waiver RESA 6
bpeterso@access.k12.wv.us 

Coordinator
* SPP/APR Indicators #1, 2, 13
Dropout/Graduation
Transition
* Post School Outcomes
Subgroup Intervention - National Dropout Prevention Center Program
* ESEA Waiver RESA 6
@access.k12.wv.us 
Amber Stohr
Coordinator
* Research
* Evaluation
* Data Requests/Support
astohr@access.k12.wv.us 
Valerie Wilson
Coordinator
* Accessible Instructional Materials (AIM)
* Technology Integration Specialist
* OSP Technical Support
* Science
* Subgroup Intervention - Technology
* Digital Lilbrary
* ESEA Waiver RESA 4
vwilson@access.k12.wv.us 
WV Autism Training Center
* Early Childhood Positive Behavioral Supports
* Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports
* Subgroup Intervention - Positive School Climate
http://www.marshall.edu/coe/atc/
Jacqui Veres
Secretary III-A
* Autism Mentors
* Parent Educator Resource Centers
* Professional Development
* General Office Management
* Special Education Directors Listserv
jacqui.veres@access.k12.wv.us 
Kathy Garten
Secretary II
* Purchasing
* Service/Stipend Agreements
* Travel Reimbursement
* Inventory
kgarten@access.k12.wv.us 
Jennifer Myers
Secretary II
* Out-Of-State Facilities
* Compliace and Monitoring
* Due Process Hearing Officers/Mediators
* Travel
jamyers@access.k12.wv.us 
Linda Payne
Secretary II
* Purchasing/Hospitality
* School Nurses
* WVEIS Electronic Health Care Plan
* K12 School Nurse Listserv
lfpayne@access.k12.wv.us 
Taylor Green
Intern
* Intern Support  
taylor.green@access.k12.wv.us 
 

 

Office of Special Programs
Building 6, Rm 304
1900 Kanawha Blvd
Charleston, WV 25305
Phone: 304-558-2696
Fax: 304-558-3741