Twelve Educators Honored With Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards

March 22, 2005

Charleston, W.Va. - Twelve educators from around the state were honored recently with the prestigious Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards at a ceremony at the State Capitol.  

State Schools Superintendent David Stewart joined Governor Joe Manchin, First Lady Gayle Manchin and Arch Coal President and Chief Executive Office Steven Leer and other educational officials to present the recipients their awards.  

Each teacher received a personal, unrestricted cash award of $2,500 from Arch Coal. In addition, the West Virginia Foundation for Improvement of Education added a $1,000 grant to each recipients school for use with at-risk students.  

This year’s recipients are: Janet Bowland, Scarbro Elementary School, Fayette County Christine Cline, Gilbert High School, Mingo County Helen Curry, Burch Elementary School, Mingo County Susan Duernberger, DuPont Middle School, Kanawha County Joyce Evans, Monongah Elementary School, Marion County Carol King-Reeves, Emerson Elementary School, Wood County Katherin Manley, Champmanville Middle School, Logan County Paula Mitchell, Brandywine Elementary School, Pendleton County Carol Muniz, Morgantown High School, Monongalia County Patrical Porter, Salt Rock Elementary School, Cabell County Bob Robinson, Parkersburg South High School, Wood County Natalie Zimmerman, Keyser High School, Mineral County  

“The level of dedication and talent West Virginia teachers possess continues to amaze me,” said Stewart. “The educators honored by the Arch Coal awards are true examples of excellence.”  

More than 400 nominations were made this year. A blue ribbon panel of teachers judged the applicants.  

The Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award is the longest-running privately sponsored teacher recognition program in West Virginia. For more information about the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards or about Arch Coal, visit

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.