Governor’s Honors Academy Challenges High Achieving Students from Across West Virginia

April 01, 2004

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - More than 150 juniors from across West Virginia have been invited by Governor Bob Wise to attend the West Virginia Governor’s Honors Academy (GHA), which is being held at Marshall University June 27-July 18.  

Designed to stimulate and support excellence in education through a multi-week summer program, the mission of the academy is to operate an academically rich environment designed to honor high ability/high achieving students in an institution of higher education. The GHA challenges students to grow intellectually and creatively in a culturally diverse atmosphere.  

The following students have received letters of invitation: Barbour County—Timothy Wright and Amber Zambelli; Berkeley—Colleen Black, Jeremy Hansford, Kristin Lemaster, Sarah Pearson and Jonathan Quigley; Boone—Kyle Estep, Amelia Jarrell, Bradley Price and Margaret Santonia; Braxton—Laura Atkins, Tiffany Campbell and Brandon Foster; Brooke—Ashley Berardi; Cabell—Brandon Anderson, Emily Asbury, Rachel Bailey, Virginia Campbell, Cassidy Lawson and Gregory Vallejos; Calhoun—Cynthia Wildfire; Clay—Danielle Woods; Doddridge—Samantha Stefanov and Isaac Swisher; Fayette—Laurel Ackison, Kevin Jones, Daphne O’Hara, John Pino and Franklin Stone; Gilmer—Morgan Ames, Allison Butler, Amanda Duelley and Samantha Smith; Grant—Sarah Cullers and Joshua Taylor; Greenbrier—Christina Coughlin; Hampshire—Connie Asbury, Craig Iser and Joshua Wood; Hancock—Gina Denjen and Michael Emery;  

Hardy—Richard Hulver, Laura Kessel and Kevin Leatherman; Harrison—Tiffany Alastanos, Brittany Audia, Liam Davis, Geneva Davis, Meghan Frum and James Wise; Jackson—Kelsey Batten, Ivy Crank and Matthew McGrew; Jefferson—Thomas Flanagan and Cara Vogler; Kanawha—Allison Broadwater, Angela Carter, Marissas Cevallos, Nicholas DiCarlo, Karina Geronilla, William King, Aarzu Moghal, Chase Turner and Morgan Yates; Lewis—Claire Berlin and Shea Garrison Kimmel; Lincoln—Allisun Browning; Logan—Erin Long, Rafael Rodighiero and Casey Woody; Marion—Brandon Domico, Zachary Gouzd, Sonni Pellillo, Rebecca Pyles and Anna Simis; Marshall—Brian Dalek, Dina Graves, Colby Moziingo and Megan Schubert;  

Mason –Holt Barnitz and Emily Kayser; McDowell—Brittany Addair and Kevin Richardson; Mercer—Alexia Fernandez, William Hardy, III, Jessica McClung and Kayla Williams; Mineral—Sadie Green, Ryan Imperio and Seema Shroff; Mingo—Amy Newsome, Gregory Sammons and Kelly Trimble; Monongalia—Johanna Collins, Jessica Duda, Deepti Gupta, Yonina Hoffman, Tanya Klinkhachorn, Nicole Shumiloff and Lee Zaniewski; Monroe—William Johnson, Rachel Tingler, Vanessas Wallace and Jason Walters; Morgan—Jesse Potts; Nicholas—Kevin Hanna, Callie Thayer and William Waters; Ohio—Anne Seabright, Nevin Sharma, Robert Tappe and Michael Wakim; Pendleton—Jonie Nelson and Steve Redman; Pleasants—Kristen Milhoan and Mitchell Parlett; Pocahontas—Johnathon Burns and Danielle Holstine; Preston—Andrew Cary and Kristina Szilagyi; Putnam—Bennett Anderson, Morgan Chambers, Margaret Cunningham and Jason Van Meter; Raleigh—Steven Richmond, Rachel Romero, Courtney Staton, Sarah Wilkinson, Nicholas Yurick and Alexandra Zsoldos; Randolph—Amber Simmons and Michael Zorger; Ritchie—Michael Hardbarger and Jenna Rollins; Roane—Andrew Cooper and Heather Ramsey; Summers—Kimberly Eagle, Rebecca Eerenberg and Todd Willey; Taylor—Elijah Flesher, Ryan Mick and Tonya Smith; Tucker—Dustin Mauzy and Laura Smith; Tyler—Broc Hissam, Samantha Moore, Elijah Richie and AnaRosa Stender; Upshur—Donovan Godwin, Jessica Lantz and Amanda Scott; Wayne—Jessica Bergquist and Jacob Kilgore; Webster—Elizabeth Short and Conley Stout; Wetzel—Michael Lemasters and Kayla Poling; Wirt—no applicants; Wood—Matthew Cayton, Nathan Dailey, Michael Hardman, Andrew Hicks, Audrey Hilton, Shaina Meyers and Emily Rader; Wyoming—Chandra Cook.  

Outstanding students throughout the state were encouraged to apply for GHA, and each county superintendent had the opportunity to name one male and one female to attend.  

The Governor’s Honors Academy is funded by the legislature for 150 students. In addition, the West Virginia Department of Education Office of Career and Technical Education funds slots for 15 students on the Career/Technical track. There is no cost to the students.  

Former Governor John D. Rockefeller, IV, started the West Virginia Governor’s Honors Academy in 1984.  

For more information about the Governor Honors Academy, contact Sherry Keffer, Coordinator for the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Special Education, at (304) 558-2696, or visit

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.