Commission for Professional Teaching Standards Welcomes Two New Members

January 12, 2004

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - The West Virginia Board of Education has named two new members to the Commission for Professional Teaching Standards. Vicki Douglas of Martinsburg, Berkeley County, and Ruth Ann Scherich of Wheeling, Ohio County, were selected to serve on the advisory body.  

Douglas is a former member of the West Virginia House of Delegates where she was considered a part of the House leadership and served as chair for the Committee on Government Organization. Her particular avocation has been to work with juvenile justice issues and is an advocate for young people. She is also a former teacher.  

Scherich has 51 years of teaching and administration experience in Ohio County. She served 28 years as principal of Woodsdale Elementary School. She is vice-president of the teachers’ honorary fraternity Delta Kappa Gamma.  

Comprised of 19 members, the CPTS was established in 1997 to form an alliance between the West Virginia Board of Education and the education profession. It serves in an advisory capacity to the State Board on matters relating to teacher preparation, certification, licensure and professional development.  

The CPTS has a mission of ensuring that competent educators who meet rigorous preparation and licensure requirements serve every student in West Virginia. The commission also recommends to the State Board of Education standards and practices for the development and approval of preparation programs and licensure.  

The members of the Commission, who are representatives of the education community, come from around the state and serve rotating terms.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.