Fifteen Counties Awarded Enhancing Education Through Technology Grants

July 23, 2003

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - The West Virginia Department of Education's Office of Technology and Information Systems awarded Enhancing Education Through Technology (EETT) grants to 15 counties during a luncheon at the Charleston Civic Center. The awards luncheon was a part of the West Virginia Department of Education's Summer Leadership Conference.  

The Enhancing Education Through Technology grant program was established when No Child Left Behind was signed into law on Jan. 8, 2002. It replaced the Technology Literacy Challenge Fund.  

The goals of this program are to: * Improve student academic achievement through the use of technology in schools; * Assist every student in crossing the digital divide by ensuring that every student is technologically literate by the end of the eighth grade; and * Encourage the effective integration of technology with teacher training and curriculum development to establish successful research-based methods.  

The 15 counties which received the grants for the 2003-2004 school year were: Barbour: $146,558.66 Braxton: $152,293.86 Clay: $160,000 Fayette: $122,903.81 Harrison: $141,591.92 Kanawha: $156,972.48 Lincoln: $131, 316.29 Marion: $131,456.73 McDowell: $158,733.44 Mercer: $153,240.00 Monongalia: $133,814.94 Pocahontas: $138,778.42 Ritchie: $153,733.00 Upshur: $151,619.35 Wood: $107,401.70  

The grant money awarded to each county may be used to help achieve the goals intended by the program, as well as other applicable education goals.  

For more information regarding the EETT grants, please contact John Merritt, Coordinator, Technology Literacy Challenge Fund Grant, at (304) 558-0304.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.