Six West Virginia Students Selected as Presidential Scholars Semifinalists

April 09, 2003

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - Six West Virginia students have been named as United States Presidential Scholars semifinalists. Up to 141 students from across the country are named as Presidential Scholars each year. The federal program is one of the nation’s highest honors for high school seniors.  

This year’s semifinalists are Paul Broyles, III, Mercer County; Erin Morgan; Ohio County; Soja-Marie Morgens, Jefferson County; Andrei Popovici, Cabell County; Brian Snelling, Kanawha County; and Rachel Williams, Harrison County.  

Approximately 2,600 students were identified as candidates in this program from nearly 2.8 million graduating high school seniors, and only 500 semifinalists were selected from across the country. These 500 semifinalists form the pool from which the 2003 Presidential Scholars will be selected.  

The scholars are selected on the basis of the accomplishment in many areas – academic and artistic success, leadership, and involvement in their schools and communities.  

“Each of these six semifinalists should be commended for their hard work and dedication,” said State Schools Superintendent David Stewart. “This achievement will open the door to numerous educational opportunities and I wish them continued success.”  

Those who are named Presidential Scholars will receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. during National Recognition Week and will be awarded the Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House.  

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President to honor some of our nation’s most distinguished high school seniors.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.