First Annual Caperton Educational Technology Winners Announced
Technology Director Brenda Williams Receives Special Recognition Award

July 25, 2002

A student from Logan County and a team of educators from Boone County are the first recipients of the Caperton Educational Technology Awards. The winners were announced today by former West Virginia Gov. Gaston Caperton during an education conference in Charleston.  

The awards were established by Caperton to recognize and honor those who have made a difference through the use of technology or development of technology in K-12 schools. The annual awards are given to one student (or team of students) and a teacher/administrator (or team). The recipients receive $5000 from the grant award program established by Gov. Caperton and administered by the Greater Kanawha Valley Foundation.  

Robby Queen, a student at Logan Senior High, was selected as the student recipient. Queen has developed web sites for several elementary schools in Logan County and received a grant from NASA to form the state’s first robotics technology team. He was also one of the first students in the state to take part in the West Virginia Virtual School by taking an Internet course with West Virginia’s online partner, Florida High School.  

Queen was awarded the Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Award and has participated in the Think Quest Junior Program. He has been an honor roll student since first grade, president of numerous school clubs, and active in various school and community programs.  

The technology team from Sherman Junior High received the other $5000 award for its outstanding accomplishments in building a technology-integrated curriculum across content areas.  

The award-winning team members are Nora Dotson, language arts and technology teacher; Lisa Beck, math teacher; Lee Johnson, math and social studies teacher; and Principal C. David Price.  

The Sherman Junior High educators designed a program where every teacher in the school would utilize technology daily for productivity and student achievement. They streamlined lesson plans, documented integration, and assisted teachers with discovering valuable web sites, scientific probes, digital cameras and built parental communication through digital tools.  

They also used the West Virginia Department of Education’s Reinventing Education grant program to provide teachers with online juried lesson plans to use in their classrooms.  

In addition to the two technology awards, Gov. Caperton presented a special recognition award to Brenda Williams, executive director of the Office of Instructional Technology with the West Virginia Department of Education. Williams worked closely with Caperton during his administration to implement his Basic Skills/Computer Education initiative. Williams spearheaded the effort to provide comprehensive teacher training on utilizing the computer to increase student achievement. Caperton honored Williams for her outstanding contributions and tireless dedication to countless technology initiatives in West Virginia schools.  

As West Virginia’s 31st Governor Caperton helped develop one of the nation’s most comprehensive approaches to include technology in the schools. His long range initiative to place computers in every elementary classroom in the state and to provide educators with the appropriate training to successfully utilize the computers to enhance student achievement, is still considered the country’s most successful learning technology program.  

Caperton continues his commitment to improving education and today serves as President of The College Board, a national non-profit association whose mission is to prepare, inspire and connect students to college and opportunity. Among The College Board’s best known programs are the SAT, the PSAT/NMSQT and the Advanced Placement Program.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.