Tobacco Prevention Scholarship Recipients Named

May 10, 2002

Making a difference in tobacco prevention has its rewards. Sponsored by the Department of Education, along with the West Virginia Hospital Associationís West Virginia Youth Tobacco Prevention Campaign, West Virginia Bureau for Public Healthís Tobacco Prevention Program and the American Lung Association of West Virginia, eight Tobacco Prevention Leadership Scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors who have helped in the prevention of tobacco use.  

Eight students from across West Virginia will each be honored with $1,000 scholarships for their work in tobacco-use prevention in West Virginia. Of those eight winners, one lucky recipient will be awarded an additional $1,000 scholarship for being named the state winner of the Tobacco Prevention Leadership Scholarship.  

The students will receive their scholarships at an awards dinner on Friday, May 10, at 6:30 p.m. at the University of Charlestonís Maroon and Gold Room The state winner also will be announced at that time.  

West Virginia high school seniors competed for the opportunity to win the scholarships based on creative thinking, initiative, leadership to rally their peers and involve them as advocates, and impact of activities on protecting youths from tobacco. Applicants also included a personal statement of describing their tobacco prevention work and what impact their efforts had on reducing youth tobacco use.  

The scholarship winners, representing each of the eight Regional Education Service Agencies (RESAs) region, are: RESA I - Christopher Cooper, Woodrow Wilson; RESA II - Jilleyn Gore, Chapmanville High School; RESA III - Sonia Patton, Nitro High School; RESA IV - Stacy Gill, Fayetteville High School; RESA V - Nina Vasan, Parkersburg High School; RESA VI - Amber Bauer, Wheeling Park High School; RESA VII - Julie Dawson, South Harrison High School; and, RESA VIII - Brittany Lamb, Musselman High School.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.