Schools Recognized for Meeting High Schools That Work Standards

August 05, 1999

Thirty-one schools representing 21 counties were recognized by the West Virginia Department of Education for meeting standards established by the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) on the 1998 High Schools that Work assessment.  

The schools were presented with a plaque from State Board President Cleo P. Mathews and State Superintendent Dr. Henry Marockie at an awards luncheon in Charleston on August 4.  

"By meeting standards established by the SREB, these schools have been recognized for academic excellence in the areas of mathematics, reading and science," Dr. Marockie explained. "These schools are now recognized statewide and nationally for academic achievement in this assessment."  

The High Schools That Work initiative was implemented in West Virginia starting in 1988. In that year, three pilot sites in Randolph, Ohio and Harrison counties were established. Today, the High Schools That Work initiative is in place at 118 sites throughout West Virginia.  

Schools meeting the SREB goals on the High Schools That Work assessment of seniors include (by county):  

Barbour County, Philip Barbour High School; Gilmer County, Calhoun/Gilmer Career Center; Grant County, Petersburg High School and Union Educational Complex; Hampshire County, Hampshire High School; Harrison County, Bridgeport High School and South Harrison High School; Jackson County, Ripley High School and Ravenswood High School; Jefferson County, Jefferson High School; Lincoln County, Duval High School; Mercer County, Bluefield High School, Pikeview High School and Princeton Senior High School; Mineral County, Frankfort High School; Monongalia County, Clay-Battelle High School, Morgantown High School and University High School; Monroe County, James Monroe High School; Morgan County, Berkeley Springs High School; Nicholas County, Richwood High School; Ohio County, Wheeling Park High School; Preston County, Preston High School; Randolph County, Randolph County Vocational Technical Center, Elkins High School, Tygarts Valley High School and Harman School; Summers County, Summers County High School; Wayne County, Wayne High School; Wetzel County, Hundred High School; and Wood County, Williamstown High School.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.