31 Teachers Earn Symbol of Excellence – National Board Certification

December 04, 2001

Thirty-one West Virginia teachers have earned National Board Certification, the teaching profession’s highest credential. These educators now join 23 other West Virginia professionals in achieving the symbol of teaching excellence from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS).  

Wayne County led the list with seven teachers earning national certification, followed by Monongalia County with five. Currently, an additional 79 Mountain State teachers are working toward the national credential.  

“We are so very proud of the 54 West Virginia teachers who have pursued and achieved this rigorous certification,” noted State Superintendent Dr. David Stewart. “It is certainly a stellar professional accomplishment for the educators and a great bonus for the children in our schools who are being taught by educators at the top of their profession,” added Stewart.  

National Board Certification is a professional development experience created for teachers to demonstrate their knowledge and skills through a series of performance-based assessments. Nationwide, 6,500 educators earned the national credential this year.  

West Virginia offers a financial incentive to support and encourage teachers to work toward national certification. Teachers who achieve the credential earn $2500 annually for the life of the certification. Seven counties offer additional financial incentives ranging from $1250 to $5000.  

West Virginia teachers achieving National Board Certification are: Cabell County: Kathryn Ann Weekly; Harrison County: Mary Devono; Kanawha County: Phyllis Duvall, Gale Pukall and Michelle Shomo; Logan County: Sandra Butcher and Katherine Manley; Marion County: Mary Adams; Mineral County: Susan Long; Mingo County: Christine Cline; Monongalia County: Linda Elaine Dlugos, Linda Hennen, Tracy Sell Chico, Jeanne Kay Taylor and Sarah Ann Wilson; Nicholas County: Peggy Crowe; Putnam County: Barbara Black and Carla Warren; Raleigh County: Sandra Sheatsley; Summers County: Deborah Dunn Clark; Wayne County: William Chaffin, Barbara Christain, Dinah Ledbetter, Stephanie May, Alicia Spears, Jaylen Kay Turner, and Kelly Watts; Wood County: Mary Jane Carder, Shelia Edwards, and Susan Williams; and Wyoming County: Linda Lester.  

For more information about national certification, contact the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Professional Preparation at 1-800-982-2378 or 304-558-7010.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.