WV Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year to be Announced November 7 in Charleston

October 31, 2001

The 2002 West Virginia Teacher of the Year and the Principal of the Year will be announced during a special ceremony on Wednesday, November 7 at the Charleston Marriott at approximately 8:30 p.m. All county teachers of the year will be recognized during the ceremony scheduled to begin at 8 p.m. The West Virginia Teacher of the Year will represent the state at the national level.  

The eight finalists are: Ruthanne Cole, a biology and integrated science teacher at Pikeview High School in Mercer County; Charlene Galluzzo, a physical education teacher at Sistersville Elementary School in Tyler County; Jeanne Gren, a first grade teacher at Woodburn Elementary School in Monongalia County; Patricia Hanson, a fourth grade teacher at Lewisburg Elementary School in Greenbrier County; Debra Hussell, a preschool home visitation teacher in Mason County; Kirk King, a music teacher at Sherman Elementary School in Boone County; Jan Madden, a technology and general music teacher at Sherrard Elementary in Marshall County; and Kay Utter, a kindergarten and first grade teacher at Wilsonburg Elementary School in Harrison County.  

Past recipients, including Donna Ream of Greenbrier County, also will be in attendance. Paying tribute to educators since 1964, the Teacher of the Year is the longest, ongoing awards program honoring classroom teachers.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.