Another Wave of Innovation Zones are Announced

December 15, 2014

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - Innovative ideas and approaches to learning have earned county education systems and schools some extra cash. The West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE), on Wednesday, approved a list of Regular Innovation Zones and Dropout Prevention Innovation Zones.

An Innovation Zone designation gives schools support and flexibility to collaboratively implement innovation to enhance student learning, which may currently be restrained by policy or code. Each county or school has an Innovation Zone Plan tailored to its specific needs.

The 2015 Innovation Zone grant awardees are:

Barbour County - Middle School Quest for High School Success

  • Philippi Middle School

Clay County - Community School

  • HE White Elementary School

Grant County - Project Connect

  • Maysville Elementary School
  • Petersburg Elementary School
  • Petersburg High SchoolUnion Educational Complex

Greenbrier County - Minding Our Business

  • Eastern Greenbrier Middle School
  • Greenbrier East High School
  • Western Greenbrier Middle School

Lincoln County - Catching Them Up...‚Äč

  • Midway Elementary School
  • Ranger Elementary School

McDowell County - Community School

  • Southside K-8 School

Mercer County Schools - Helping Hands

Mingo County- E3: Engage, Experience, and Educate

  • Burch Middle School
  • Matewan PK-8
  • Mingo Central High School

Ohio County - The Anchor Program

  • Madison Elementary

For more information, contact Liza Cordeiro in the Office of Communication at (304) 558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.