Sixty-one W.Va. Teachers Earn National Board Certification

June 13, 2013

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — Sixty-one West Virginia teachers, who earned National Board Certification for 2012, the highest credential in the teaching profession, were honored Wednesday for their achievement. The new additions increase the number of National Board Certified Teachers in West Virginia schools to nearly 700.

"National Board Certified Teachers have demonstrated they know how to bridge the gap between what students learn today and what they need to know to be successful in college and careers," said state Superintendent Jim Phares. "Teachers who receive the national certification are clearly among America's best. They not only have proven they know their subject matter, but also have provided evidence they know how to effectively teach their subjects to students."

Across the country, 102,237 of the nation's most effective teachers have demonstrated that they meet the highest teaching standards by becoming National Board Certified. In West Virginia, Wood County has the most National Board Certified Teachers with 82, followed by Cabell with 56; Berkeley and Monongalia, 44; and Putnam, 32.

West Virginia's 61 teachers receiving national certification in 2012 are:

Mark Christopher Albright, Kevin Frankhouser, Magdalene Frye, Sherrie Lee Hartman, Kelly Elizabeth Kable, Erin Peralta, Anthony Wayne Ponton, Gina Michele Pratt and Jessica Ruqus
Loren Jo Berry
Timothy Thomas Turner
Rebecca L. Harden, Teresa Kay Hatfield and Kathleen Cook Turner
Judy Ashton Burns and Carolyn A. Osborne
Amy Sue Hannahs and Jennifer Nicole Loveland
Melissa Juan Hinerman and Anna Kaye Tennis
Patricia Gayle Anderson and Leslie C. Haynes
Gina Marie Hunter and Jeremy Daniel Wilt
Timothy Wayne Clifton, Lynn Marie Davis, Robin Laura Peck and Deborah Sink
Patricia Faye Childers
Jeanina Maria Butcher, Adrin Elizabeth Fisher, Jessica Lauren Ford and Elizabeth Marie Urse
Katie Lynn Dantrassy
Jodie Todd Roush
Ashley Nicole Shaw and Emily Browning Smith
Rebonica Louise Davis, Patricia Jane Deal-Broadwater, Lori Ann Sarfino and Hannah Leigh Wingler
Sarah Rebecca Kane
Valerie Lynn Mullins
Debra Clark, Christine Kiger Harden, Jamie Layne Johnson, Helen Marie Kudrav, Richard Marsh and Jacqueline Lou Shriner
Holly Jeanine Hoover, Courtney S. Ruppert and Rachelle Williams
Julie Ann Midkiff and Cindi Renee Reeves
Stacy Marteney
Ernest Wayne Clark, Tracy C. Fauber, Whitny Margaret Gesell, Joanna Theresa Mulligan, Jaime Seltzer and Brenda Lee Twyman.

Founded in 1987, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, non-profit, non-partisan, non-governmental organization. Its mission is to establish high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. National Board Certification is a voluntary assessment program designed to recognize and reward great teachers – and make them better.

For more information about NBPTS and National Board Certification, contact Liza Cordeiro in the West Virginia Department of Education's Communication Office at 304-558-2699. Information also is available on the NBPTS website at

Photo Gallery

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.