2013-2014 Schools of Excellence Announced

May 29, 2013

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - Ten West Virginia Schools have been named Schools of Excellence for the 2013-2014 school year.

"I offer my congratulations to the principals, teachers, parents and students for their hard work and dedication to helping their school become a School of Excellence," said state Superintendent of Schools Jim Phares. "These schools have shown how to continually exceed the academic bar and they deserve this recognition."

Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum; a safe and drug-free learning environment; participatory leadership; active teaching and learning; an environment that strengthens teacher skills; documented student achievement; and implementing advanced and innovated programs.

The 2013-2014 Schools of Excellence are:

  • Berkeley County: Hedgesville Elementary
  • Brooke County: Colliers Primary
  • Cabell County: Culloden Elementary
  • Clay County: Big Otter Elementary
  • Grant County: Maysville Elementary
  • Kanawha County: Herbert Hoover High School
  • Mercer County: Mercer County Technical Center
  • Nicholas County: Panther Creek Elementary
  • Ohio County: West Liberty Elementary
  • Randolph County: Randolph Technical Center

Individual school applications were reviewed by a panel to determine where site visits should occur. During the site visits, the schools provided the site visitors with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition. Schools will be recognized with a reception and banquet on Oct. 9 at the Clay Center in Charleston.

For more information about West Virginia Schools of Excellence, contact Nancy Cline, coordinator for the Office of School Improvement, at 304-558-3199, or nmcline@access.k12.wv.us, or contact Liza Cordeiro in the WVDE Communication Office at 304-558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.