Fifty-three W.Va. Teachers Earn National Board Certification

June 13, 2012

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Fifty-three West Virginia teachers, who earned National Board Certification for 2011, the highest credential in the teaching profession, will be honored Wednesday evening at the Clay Center in Charleston for their achievement. The new additions increase the number of National Board Certified Teachers in West Virginia schools to 635.

Universal Free Meals

View a slideshow of the event.

 “National Board Certified Teachers not only have to prove they know their subject matter, but they also must provide evidence they know how to effectively teach their subjects to students,” said state Superintendent Jorea Marple. “National Board Certified Teachers know how to bridge the gap between what students learn today and what they need to know to be successful in the 21st century. Teachers who receive the national certification are clearly among America’s best.”  

Across the country, 97,291 of the nation’s most effective teachers have demonstrated that they meet the highest teaching standards by becoming National Board Certified. In West Virginia, Wood County has the most National Board Certified Teachers with 73, followed by Cabell with 52; Monongalia, 45; Berkeley, 35; and Putnam, 30.

West Virginia’s 53 teachers receiving national certification in 2011 are: Berkeley County, Alanda Hall, Myrtle Holland, Kent Kraft, Bethany Miller, Margaret Ponton, April Rearick, Candace Smith and Cindy Thomas; Boone, Leanne Dolin; Cabell, Marion Dailey, Tina Green, Lee Hvizdak and Kristin Ryder; Greenbrier, Meredith Canterbury, Rebecca Crane, Jane Hall and Heather Nutter; Hancock, Michelle McHaffie; Harrison, Elissa Whelchel; Jackson, Pamela Gorrell and Rhonda Ritchie; Jefferson, James Russell; Kanawha, Mary Kessinger, Kelly Massinople, Melissa Smith and Bernard Vandal; Lincoln, Katherine Becker, Elizabeth Duncan and Melissa Vinson; Marshall, Brittany Cecil; Mason, Lewis Marcum; Mineral, Tammy Ashby, Kathleen Perry, Rebecca Rhett and Sharon Squires; Mingo, Deanna Maynard, Jennifer Sparks and Mary Testerman; Monongalia, Sonda Cheesebrough and Sara Pennington; Monroe, Brian Baker and Sarah Burton; Ohio, Catherin Whorton; Putnam, Sonjia Richardson; Raleigh, Elizabeth Combs, Terri Gunter and Revonda Shiflett; Wood, Mary Blaker, Connie Bowers, Lisa Coleman, Corinne Full and James Stewart; and Wyoming, Angela Boninsegna.

Founded in 1987, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, non-profit, non-partisan, non-governmental organization. Its mission is to establish high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. National Board Certification is a voluntary assessment program designed to recognize and reward great teachers – and make them better.

While state licensing systems set basic requirements to teach in each state, National Board Certified Teachers have successfully demonstrated advanced teaching knowledge, skills and practices. Certification is achieved through a rigorous, performance-based assessment that typically takes one to three years to complete. As part of the process, teachers build a portfolio that includes student work samples, assignments, videotapes and a thorough analysis of their classroom teaching. Additionally, teachers are assessed on their knowledge of the subjects they teach.

For more information about NBPTS and National Board Certification, contact the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Communication at (304) 558-2699. Information also is available on the NBPTS website at


Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.