2012-2013 Schools of Excellence Announced

May 29, 2012

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Ten West Virginia Schools have been named Schools of Excellence for the 2012-2013 school year.

“Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor across the curriculum,” said state Superintendent of Schools Jorea Marple. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious recognition.”

Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum; a safe and drug-free learning environment; participatory leadership; active teaching and learning; an environment that strengthens teacher skills; documented student achievement; and implementing advanced and innovated programs.

The 2012-2013 Schools of Excellence are:

1. Boone County: Ashford-Rumble Elementary
2. Fayette County: Fayette Institute of Technology
3. Kanawha County: Shoals Elementary
4. Lincoln County: West Hamlin Elementary
5. Marion County: Whitehall Elementary
6. Mercer County: Princeton Primary
7. Mingo County: Dingess Elementary
8. Nicholas County: Craigsville Elementary
9. Putnam County: Eastbrook Elementary
10. Raleigh County: Liberty High School

Individual school applications were reviewed by a reading panel over a two-day period resulting in site visits. During the site visits, the schools provided each site visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.

For more information regarding West Virginia Schools of Excellence, please contact David Price, coordinator for the Office of School Improvement, at 304-558-3199, or cdprice@access.k12.wv.us, or contact the Office of Communication at 304-558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.