West Virginia Board of Education Member Inducted into Harless Hall of Fame

May 08, 2012

CHARLESTON, W.Va. –West Virginia Board of Education Member Lloyd G. Jackson II was inducted into the Harless Hall of Fame at Marshall University on May 1, 2012.

The June Harlesss Center for Rural Educational Research and Development hosts the annual induction ceremony as a way to honor and show appreciate to individuals who have advocated and contributed to West Virginia education, particularly in rural areas of the state.

Jackson, of Hamlin, West Virginia, is a member of the West Virginia Board of Education and a former chairman of the Senate Education Committee.  Jackson is best known for his writing of the PROMISE Scholarship legislation and Comprehensive Early Childhood Legislation.  Jackson is an attorney and businessman in the oil and natural gas production business.

The June Harless Center is a partner with the West Virginia Department of Education and is dedicated to providing support to educators through the state.  Its mission is to provide leadership in education initiatives for rural West Virginia educators and students and offers a support system that addresses educational problems, sustains school improvement and provides positive growth in all educational factors.

For more information, contact the Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.