W.Va. Career Technical Education Celebrates Stars

July 26, 2011

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Department of Education honored outstanding members of the West Virginia career and technical community earlier this week during the Celebrating Stars event as a part of their summer conference.

The winners were treated as celebrities for the night as they strolled down the red carpet during this inaugural Academy Awards-inspired event.

Winners received a $4,000 grant for their school, a trophy and many photo-ops throughout the evening.

“Celebrating Stars is a very exciting new event for the career technical and education community,” said assistant state Superintendent Kathy D’Antoni. “It is a great way for us to show our appreciation to those who go above and beyond for our students.”

The selection process for Celebrating Stars began earlier this year when information was sent to all career and technical education facilities across the state asking for nominations in each category. From the nominations, three finalists were selected in each category and were asked to prepare a two-minute comprehensive video to determine the winners.  

Winners were as followed:

  • Best Career and Technical Facility: Academy of Careers and Technology
  • Best Performing Concentration Secondary: John Marshall High School-  Broadcasting
  • Best Performing Concentration Secondary/Adult: Carver Career Center- Cosmetology
  • Best Performing Concentration Adult: Garnet Career Center- LPN
  • Outstanding Business and Industry Involvement: James Rumsey Technical Institute
  • Outstanding Community Involvement: Mercer County Technical Center
  • New Teacher in a Leading Role: Sam Nibert- Mason County Career Center
  • Veteran Teacher in a Leading Role: John Cox- Preston County High School
  • Support Staff in a Supporting Role: Debra Hoblizell- Carver Career Center

The Celebrating Stars event also honored the first inducted members into the Career Technical Education Hall of Fame. Recipients of that honor included Stanley Hopkins, assistant state Superintendent for the Division of Technical and Adult Education; Kenna Seal, former director of the Office of Education Performance Audits; Gus Douglass, West Virginia’s Commissioner of Agriculture; Joan Smith, director of United Technical Center; and William Proudfoot, former delegate for the West Virginia State House of Delegates.

For more information, contact the Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699. 

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.