11 Counties to Receive $4 Million in Technology Grants

August 06, 2010

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Technology has awarded technology grants totaling about $4 million to 17 schools in 11 counties.

The awards were to be presented Thursday, Aug. 5, 2010, by Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine during a luncheon at the Charleston Civic Center as part of the annual West Virginia Statewide Technology Conference.

The awards include funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) as well as the Enhancing Education Through Technology program, which helps fund technology in schools. Every technology integration specialist trained with money from the program receives 40 days of professional development so they then can return to their home schools and help other teachers integrate technology into their teaching plans to improve student achievement.

The Enhancing Education Through Technology program strives to improve student academic achievement through the use of technology in schools; to assist every student in crossing the digital divide by ensuring that every student is technologically literate by the end of the eighth grade; and to encourage the effective integration of technology with teacher training and curriculum development to establish successful research-based methods.

The grant money awarded to each county may be used to help achieve the goals intended by the program, as well as other applicable education goals. The largest grant, $570,000, goes to Monongalia County’s Suncrest Middle School for the creation of a 1:1 computing environment. The school plans to use the grant, which will be awarded in phases, to provide professional development and laptops to all teachers.

Other counties receiving grants for the 2010-2011 school year are: Barbour, Phillipi Middle School, $187,622; Cabell, Beverly Hills Middle School, $153,796, Huntington High School, $187,625; Clay, Big Otter, H.E. White and Lizemore elementary schools, $162,371, Clay County High School, $125,065; Greenbrier, Greenbrier East and Greenbrier West high schools, $141,451, Crichton, Rainelle, Ronceverte and White Sulphur elementary schools, $185,887; Kanawha, Hayes and McKinley middle schools, $166,011, Sissonville High School, $187,626; Lincoln, Duvall and Hamlin PK-8 schools, $187,594; Marion, Jayenne and Pleasant Valley elementary schools, $187,000; McDowell, Kimball Elementary School, $187,590; Monongalia, Morgantown and University high schools, $159,730; Ohio, Bridge Street Middle School, $154,705, Woodsdale Elementary, computer equipment valued at $48,550; Putnam, George Washington Middle School and Poca High School, $169,721; Raleigh, Beckley-Stratton Middle School and Independence High School, $141,953, Marsh Fork and Sophia-Soak Creek elementary schools, $171,265; Wayne, Spring Valley High School, $145,625; Wirt, Wirt Middle School and Wirt High School, $169,436, Wirt High School, $44,051; and Wood, Edison Middle School, $187,626.

For more information, contact the Office of Communications at 304-558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.