Two W.Va. Students Receive Spirit of Community Award

March 04, 2010

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – A Monongalia County high school student and a Doddridge County middle school student have been named top youth volunteers for 2010 and given the national Prudential Spirit of Community Award.  
Lisa Liang, a 17-year-old senior at Morgantown High School, has devoted hundreds of hours over four years to serving her community. She helped prepare dinners at a local homeless shelter and led her science honor club in an annual drive to collect jars of baby food for struggling families. She also has sorted donated clothing at a Christian thrift store, set up clothing displays and aided customers. Every month she organizes bingo games for nursing home residents. She also volunteers at a local hospital.
“My motivation for my volunteer work grew stronger over time as I became increasingly involved in my activities,” Liang said. “Seeing the results of my work and knowing that I made a difference in other people’s lives inspired me to work even harder.”
Shaylin Reid, a 12-year-old seventh grade student at Doddridge County Middle School in West Union, spent her 2009 summer vacation volunteering at Energy Express, a daycare and tutoring program for children, and at the Doddridge Ecumenical Outlet Food Pantry. In the tutoring program, Reid helped set up rooms for the children, assisted with daily art projects, read to individual children and supervised playtimes. At the food pantry, she helped organize donated food and unload boxes.
“I love volunteering,” Reid said. “I hope that when I grow up this will always be something that I can do.”
Winners of the Prudential Spirit of Community Award receive $1,000, an engraved silver medallion and a trip to Washington, D.C. The awards are conducted by Prudential Financial in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals. Two winners are chosen from each state and Washington, D.C.  
Alexandra Dennis, 17, of Morgantown, a home-schooled student, and Laura Stuttler, 18, of Princeton High School, also were named distinguished finalists and will receive an engraved bronze medallion.
For more information, contact the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.