2009-2010 Schools of Excellence Are Honored

August 12, 2009

CHARLESTON, W.Va. Eight West Virginia Schools have earned the prestigious Schools of Excellence award for the 2009-2010 school year and were honored for their achievement at a banquet Wednesday night.

Schools of Excellence are selected based on providing a rigorous and challenging curriculum; a safe and drug-free learning environment; participatory leadership; active teaching and learning; an environment that strengthens teacher skills; documented student achievement; and advanced and innovated programs.

“Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor across the curriculum,” said West Virginia Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious recognition.”

The 2009-2010 Schools of Excellence are:

Berkeley County: Eagle School Intermediate

Cabell County: Davis Creek Elementary, Village of Barboursville Elementary and Martha Elementary

Jackson County: Cottageville Elementary

Kanawha County: Ben Franklin Career and Technical Center

Putnam County: Poca Middle School

Raleigh County: Stratton Elementary

Individual school applications were reviewed by a reading panel over a two-day period resulting in eight site visits. During the site visits, all schools provided each visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.

For more information about West Virginia Schools of Excellence, contact David Price, Division of Educator Quality and System Support, at (304) 558-3199, or the Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699. 

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.