W.Va. Commission for Professional Teaching Standards Says Goodbye to Three Members

October 09, 2008

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Three members of the West Virginia Commission for Professional Teaching Standards have completed their terms.

Shirley Fortney, a professor at West Virginia Wesleyan College; Robert Lockhart, a Kanawha County lawyer; and Jama Shamblin, an elementary school teacher; were honored for their years of service on the commission Wednesday night in Charleston.

Comprised of 21 members, the Commission for Professional Teaching Standards was established in 1997 to form an alliance between the West Virginia Board of Education and the education profession. It serves in an advisory capacity to the state board on matters relating to teacher preparation, certification, licensure and professional development. Members are representatives of the education community, come from around the state and serve rotating terms.  


The commission has a mission of ensuring that competent educators who meet rigorous preparation and licensure requirements serve every student in West Virginia. The commission also recommends to the state Board of Education standards and practices for the development and approval of preparation programs and licensure.


For more information, contact the Office of Communications, at (304) 558-2699.


Here is a picture gallery of the event.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.