National Blue Ribbon Schools Nominees, WV Schools of Excellence Named

May 24, 2000

The West Virginia Department of Education today announced that four elementary schools in the Mountain State have been selected as National Blue Ribbon nominees, while 17 schools have been named as West Virginia Schools of Excellence.  

According to State Superintendent Dr. David Stewart, West Virginia's four National Blue Ribbon nominees will be in competition with other schools across the nation for the right to call themselves National Blue Ribbon Schools in 2001.  

"These 21 schools exemplify the best of education in West Virginia and the nation," Stewart said. "These schools exhibit high student achievement, a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, and documented student achievement. In short, these are well-managed schools that produce."  

According to the State Superintendent, the four National Blue Ribbon Schools nominees and the state's 17 Schools of Excellence exhibit attributes which set them apart from other schools.  

West Virginia's National Blue Ribbon Schools nominees include: Liberty Elementary in Weirton, Hancock County; McNinch Elementary in Moundsville, Marshall County; Roosevelt Elementary in Point Pleasant, Mason County; and Winchester Avenue Elementary in Martinsburg, Berkeley County.  

West Virginia's 2000 Schools of Excellence include: James Monroe High School in Lindside, Monroe County; Martinsburg South Middle School in Martinsburg, Berkeley County; Musselman Middle School in Bunker Hill, Berkeley County; Sherrard Junior High in Wheeling, Marshall County; Ravenswood Middle School in Ravenswood, Jackson County; A. T. Allison Elementary in Chester, Hancock County; Woodsdale Elementary in Wheeling, Ohio County; Hepzibah Elementary in Bridgeport, Taylor County; Riverside Elementary in Williamson, Mingo County; Bradley Elementary in Mount Hope, Raleigh County; Emerson Elementary in Parkersburg, Wood County; Berlin McKinney Elementary in Oceana, Wyoming County; Geary Elementary in Left Hand, Roane County; Sherrard Elementary in Wheeling, Marshall County; Harden Elementary in Salem, Harrison County; Cranberry-Prosperity Elementary in Beckley, Raleigh County; and Buffalo Elementary in Buffalo, Putnam County.  

Tony Smedley, executive director for the Office of Human Resources, West Virginia Department of Education, coordinates the state's school recognition programs. According to Smedley, the choice is often very difficult for committees reviewing applications and conducting on-site visits.  

"West Virginia has many outstanding schools," Smedley explained. "These schools were selected because they exhibit the attributes found in the nation's best schools. Following a thorough review of applications and intensive on-site reviews, committee members selected 21 schools for these prestigious honors."

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.