Nearly 70 W.Va.Teachers Earn National Board Certification

December 04, 2007

CHARLESTON, W.Va. _ Nearly 70 West Virginia teachers have earned National Board Certification for 2006-2007, the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards announced Tuesday on National Board Certification Day.


“National Board Certified teachers not only have to prove they know their subject matter, but they also must provide evidence they know how to effectively teach their subjects to students,” said state Superintendent Steve Paine. “National Board Certified Teachers know how to bridge the gap between what students learn today and what they need to know to be successful in the 21st century. Teachers who receive the national certification are clearly among America’s best.”  


Across the county, more than 60,000 of some of the most effective teachers in the country, including about 360 in West Virginia, have demonstrated that they meet the highest teaching standards by becoming National Board certified. Founded in 1987, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, non-profit, non-partisan, non-governmental organization. Its mission is to establish high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do.


West Virginia’s 68 teachers receiving certification for the 2006-2007 school year are: Barbour County: Tonya Ferguson; Berkeley: Michele Adams and Karen Greenfield; Brooke: Karen Keener; Cabell: Lezlie Barton, Linda Chapman, Kathryn Copley, Tina Cooper, Rhonda Estep, Lorren Jones and Donna Myers; Calhoun: Sharon Pitts; Fayette: Jill O’Dell; Greenbrier: Chassie Barkley, Pamela Hunter and Cynthia Peel; Hancock: Lissa Dulick, Toni Hartung, Nancy Holdsworth, Kimberly Hughes, Alyssa Mick and Martha Randolph; Harrison: Lola Brown, Heather Holbert, Rebecca Jones, Lisa Kerns, Kim Pulice and Stephanie Runion; Jefferson: Catherine Burke and Mary Lind; Kanawha: Sandra Gilmore, Diane Hayes, Megan Johnson, Victoria Kane and Leah Lewis; Marshall: Shelia Cain and Marsha Roberts; Mercer: Aleta Crotty; Mineral: Gale Boden, Barbara Coffman, Amy Cowgill, Mary Anne Morris and Mary Pannone; Monroe: Misty Nelson; Monongalia: Carolyn Carr, William Gibson and Laura Van Horn; Ohio: Bradley Sorge, Diana Tucker; Preston: Valerie Carlsen; Putnam: Kristi Barker; Raleigh: Vaughn Rhudy and Paula Wykle; Randolph: Luanna Moore; Ritchie: Melanie Davis and Kathy Williams; Taylor: Blanca Skaggs; Upshur: Lori Woods; Wayne: Tonji Bowen; Webster: Anna Carpenter; Wood: Edna Flowers, Teresa Games, Cathy Grewe, Margaret Hattman, Tammy McKnight, Nicole Montgomery, Lisa Moser and Janet Sears.


“Like board-certified doctors and accountants, teachers who achieve National Board Certification have met rigorous criteria through intensive study, expert evaluation, self-assessment and peer review,” said NBPTS President and CEO Joseph A. Aguerrebere. “Research demonstrates that National Board Certified Teachers consistently outperform their peers in knowledge of subject matter and ability to create challenging and engaging lessons.”


National Board Certification is a voluntary assessment program designed to recognize and reward great teachers—and make them better. While state licensing systems set basic requirements to teach in each state, National Board Certified Teachers have successfully demonstrated advanced teaching knowledge, skills and practices. Certification is achieved through a rigorous, performance-based assessment that typically takes one to three years to complete. Overall, the first-year achievement rate is about 40 percent, culminating in an achievement rate of approximately 65 percent by the end of the third year.


As part of the process, teachers build a portfolio that includes student work samples, assignments, videotapes and a thorough analysis of their classroom teaching. Additionally, teachers are assessed on their knowledge of the subjects they teach.


For more information about NBPTS and National Board Certification, contact the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Professional Preparation at (304) 558-7010 or the Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699. Information also is available on the NBPTS Web site at

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.