2007-2008 Schools of Excellence Are Honored

August 09, 2007

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Thirteen West Virginia schools that have earned the prestigious Schools of Excellence award for 2007-2008 were the guests of honor at a banquet Wednesday night.       

 “Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor and incorporates 21st century learning skills into the classroom,” said state Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and deserve this recognition.”

Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and implementing advanced and innovated programs.

The 2007-2008 Schools of Excellence are:
  • Boone County: Scott High School
  • Greenbrier County: Western Greenbrier Middle School
  • Kanawha County: Alban Elementary, Mary Ingles Elementary and Ruffner Elementary
  • Marion County: Barrackville Elementary and Middle School
  • Mercer County: Bluewell Elementary and Oakvale School
  • Morgan County: Widmyer Elementary
  • Ohio County: Wheeling Park High School
  • Putnam County: Poca Elementary
  • Raleigh County: Academy of Careers and Technology
  • Institutional Education: Pressley Ridge School at White Oak Village

Individual school applications were reviewed by a panel over a two-day period. Site visits followed to the schools, which provided each visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.  

For more information on West Virginia Schools of Excellence, contact David Perine, executive director of the Office of Human Resources, at (304) 558-3401, or the Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699.

Schools of Excellence 2007 Pictures