Cook Elected West Virginia Board of Education President

July 12, 2007

cookCHARLESTON, W.Va. -The West Virginia Board of Education has elected Delores W. Cook as its president for the 2007-2008, replacing Dr. Lowell Johnson, who served two years in the post. The board also elected Priscilla Haden as vice president and Ron Spencer as secretary.  

I am honored that my colleagues have entrusted me with this position, Cook said. I am confident that we will continue to work together to move forward on important educational issue, including our 21st Century Learning initiative.  

Cook, a retired teacher from Boone County, has been a member of the state board since 2002, when she was sworn-in to serve a nine-year term ending in November 2010. She is a former president of the Boone County Education Association and former president of the Boone County Retired School Employees Association. She served in the West Virginia House of Delegates from 1989 to 1994.  

Haden, a Charleston resident, was first appointed to the board in 2002. A former member of the Kanawha County Board of Education, she also taught school in Monongalia, Wood and Kanawha counties.  

Spencer, a Doddridge County resident, has been a member of the West Virginia Board of Education since he was asked to serve by then-Gov. Cecil Underwood in 1999. He currently is chairman of the Board of Directors of the First National Bank in West Union and also is a member of the Board of Appeals for the West Virginia Secondary Schools Activities Commission.