WVDE To Host The West Virginia Teacher Of The Year Banquet

September 11, 2006

WHAT: West Virginia Department of Education to host the West Virginia Teacher of the Year Banquet  

WHEN: Sept. 12, 2006; 6 p.m. reception; 7 p.m. dinner; 8 p.m. awards  

WHERE: Charleston Marriott  

CONTACT: WVDE Communications Director Liza Cordeiro, (304) 558-2699 or Human Resources Director David Perine, (304) 558-2702  

The 2007 West Virginia Teacher of the Year will be announced during a special ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2006 at the Charleston Marriott at approximately 8 p.m. All county teachers of the year will be recognized during the ceremony scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. with a reception. The West Virginia Teacher of the Year will represent the state at the national level.  

This year’s 11 finalists are: Ann Carpenter, a vocational foods teacher at Webster County High School; Rachel Fletcher, a science teacher at Rivesville Elementary/Middle School in Marion County; Roy Harper, an agriculture teacher at Moorefield Middle School in Hardy County; Janet Kerby, a broadcast journalism teacher at Roane County High School; Darlene Koerber, a health and physical education teacher at Tyler Consolidated Middle School; Doug Martin, a graphic design and illustration instructor at the Mingo County Career & Technical Center; Amy Maynard, a third-grade teacher at Peyton Elementary in Cabell County; Sarah Morris, an English teacher at Berkeley Springs High School in Morgan County; Tony Nichols, a kindergarten teacher at Cherry River Elementary in Nicholas County; Lexsana Pilewski, an English and language arts teacher at Liberty High School in Harrison County; and Deborah Rothacher, a biology teacher at Magnolia High School in Wetzel County.  

Members of the West Virginia Board of Education, state Schools Superintendent Steve Paine, as well as past recipients, including the 2006 West Virginia Teacher of the Year Bridget Call of Mingo County, will be in attendance. The Paul J. Morris Character Educator of the Year Award also will be awarded.  

Paying tribute to educators since 1964, the Teacher of the Year is the longest, ongoing awards program honoring classroom teachers.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.