Withrow Named School Nurse of the Year

January 20, 2000

Patricia Withrow, a school nurse for Greenbrier County Schools, was named the 2000 West Virginia School Nurse of the Year today at ceremonies in Charleston.  

Withrow, a school nurse for the past 11 years, is the head nurse at Eastern Greenbrier Junior High and White Sulphur Elementary, and supervises the nursing program for the entire 6000-student county school system.  

As head school nurse, she implemented a countywide wellness program and began a training program for teachers to identify potential health problems. She also developed and co-chaired a community healthy schools committee that opened the first school-based clinic.  

"Ms. Withrow has helped to build tremendous community support through her enthusiastic and innovative health programs in Greenbrier County," said State Superintendent Dr. Henry Marockie. "Her contributions to student and staff wellness, coupled with her efficient program management, have all helped to earn this state distinction."  

Withrow graduated from West Virginia University with a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing and has worked as a staff nurse at the V.A. Hospital in Salem, Va., Humana Hospital in Lewisburg, and the University Medical Center in Morgantown. Prior to joining Greenbrier County Schools, she served as patient care coordinator for Home Care Plus in Lewisburg.  

She serves on the Greenbrier County Health Board and the community task force to protect children from sexual abuse. In addition, she has developed, revised and implemented several programs including a standardized emergency form for students, a countywide registration day for new students and families, and policies on medication and employee assistance.  

Withrow has delivered numerous presentations to other educators and health care professionals on topics including child abuse, pediatric pharmacology, rural health risks and classroom diabetes management.  

Other finalists for this year's honor were Sally Heavner, Kanawha County, and Norma Meyer, Marshall County. Last year's winner was Nancy Starcher of Mineral County.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.