The Christa McAuliffe Fellowship Program Grant Available Now

January 18, 2000

The Christa McAuliffe Fellowship Program Grant is available for the 2000-2001 school year. West Virginia is eligible for one grant application totaling approximately $29,500.00. The grant will allow the outstanding teacher to engage in activities for the improvement of education. The award will be made through an application process and the recipient will be selected by a seven member statewide panel.  

Applicants are encouraged to focus on one of the five priorities the state of West Virginia has identified in its plan entitled Education First: Our Future Depends On It ( ). The specific areas are: 1) High student performance expectations, 2) Professional development, 3) Community partnerships, 4)Technology Integration, and 5) Student career development and guidance.  

All applications must be received by Mr. Tony Smedley, Executive Director, Office of Human Resources no later than March 10, 2000. The closing date for our recommendation is April 2000.  

Outstanding teachers are encouraged to apply. The program is flexible and allows an applicant to exercise a great deal of creativity in tailoring a personal and professional growth program. The proposal must include your recommendation on the quality of the proposal and its educational benefit.  

Past Christa McAuliffe Fellowship recipients are as follows:  

1987-88 Judy Zizzo, Barbour County Volga-Century Elementary School  

1988-89 Claudia Kol, Kanawha County Charleston High School  

1989-90 Joseph Boutwell, Barbour County Philip Barbour High School  

1990-91 Toni DeVore, Wood County Washington Junior High School  

1991-92 Donna Linkous, McDowell County War Elementary School  

1992-93 Ella Bell, Jefferson County Shepherdstown Elementary School  

1993-94 Robert Frostick, Kanawha County Horace Mann Junior High School  

1994-95 Lisa Youell, Ohio County Wheeling Middle School  

1995-96 William Burrall, Marshall County Moundsville Junior High School  

1996-97 Carol O Connell, Lincoln County Harts High School  

1997-98 Julia Hutchison, Cabell County Geneva Kent Elementary School  

1998-99 Brenda Bleigh, Braxton County Burnsville Elementary School  

1999-00 Jima Dunigan, Wyoming County Huff Consolidated Elementary School

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.