Caperton Technology Awards Highlighted at Statewide Technology Conference

August 18, 2005

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – A team of students from Morgan County and a teacher from Harrison County are the 2005 recipients of the Caperton Educational Technology Awards. The winners were announced during the Awards Luncheon at the Statewide Technology Conference held at the Morgantown Radisson last week.  

Established by Governor Caperton to recognize and honor those who have made a difference through the use of technology in K-12 schools, the awards are given to a student or a team of students and a teacher/administrator, or a team of teachers/administrators. The recipients receive $5,000 from the grant award program established by Caperton and administered by the Greater Kanawha Valley Foundation.  

Computer Technology Students from Berkeley Springs High School in Morgan County are the winners in the Student Team Category. They include Rex Barkdoll, Andrew Blackburn, Donald Bradley, Andrew Dolby, Marti Harvey, Richard Kump, Clayton Mang, Mark Pittts, Araron Robertson, Joshua Smalley, Corey Spielman and Seth Wright. These students are representatives of the Technology IT Certification Program in Morgan County, which provides them with skills in computer maintenance and repair.  

Janet Benincosa is this year’s educator recipient. Benincosa wears many hats at Nutter Fort Intermediate School in Harrison County including Computer Specialist Network Administrator and School Telchnology Coordinator. She has done an excellent job in providing technology integration professional development to other educators in the county and state.  

As West Virginia’s 31st governor, Caperton helped develop one of the nation’s first most comprehensive approaches to include technology in the schools. His long-range initiative to place computers in every elementary classroom in the state and to provide educators with the appropriate training to successfully utilize the computers to enhance student achievement is still considered the country’s first statewide successful learning technology program.  

Caperton continues his commitment to education by serving as the President of The College Board, a national non-profit association whose mission is to prepare, inspire and connect students to college and opportunity.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.