Pleasants County Board President Elected as WVSBA President

May 25, 2005

Charleston, W. Va. Ė Debbie Thompson, president of the Pleasants County Board of Education has been elected as president of the West Virginia School Boards Association (WVSBA). She will assume office July 1.  

The election occurred recently at the organizationís FY06 Annual Business Meeting in Charleston.  

Thompson is the organizationís 49th president, and the third Association president from Pleasants County. She was the first female elected to the Pleasants Board when she began her term in 1994. She has served as Pleasants Board President for the past five and a half years.  

She has been active in the School Boards Association serving as a member of the TSRC committee which approves required training for county board members; she served as WVSBA Region V Director; an active member of the organizationís legislative committee; and serves as Chair of the Communications Committee.  

In addition to her school board activities, Thompson has served as surgical staff nurse at Camden Clark Memorial Hospital in Parkersburg, and an Associate professor of nursing at West Virginia University Ė Parkersburg. She also has experience as a home health care provider.  

She is involved in numerous volunteer activities and associations, including chairman of the Regional Education Service Agency V Advisory Council, coordinator of the Pleasants County Laubach Literacy Office in St. Marys, president of the Ritchie County Primary Care Association, member of the Rural Health Education Programs Executive Board, an active volunteer in the Pleasants County Schools system; and is Coordinator of the Pleasants County Safety Town Program.  

Thompson is married to Ted D. Thompson, a second grade teacher at St. Marys Elementary School and they have one daughter, Alicia Armstrong of Lumberton, North Carolina, and one granddaughter, Kamryn Noelle.  

She earned her bachelorís of science degree in nursing from WVU and holds 21 post-graduate hours toward an M.S. in nursing.  

Other WVSBA officers recently elected include:  

Lyle Spencer, President-Elect, member of the Nicholas County Board of Education.  

Kim Cooper, Vice President, member of the Raleigh County Board of Education.  

Carlene Frederick, Financial Officer, president of the Calhoun County Board of Education.  

Founded in 1952, the WVSBA is an organization comprised of the stateís 55 county school boards and has its headquarters in Charleston.  

Howard M. OíCull, Ed.D., is the organizationís Executive Director.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.