The WV Virtual School partners with several third-party course providers to offer the required breadth and depth of courses required by West Virginia students. These distance learning companies, organizations, K-12 and higher education institutions are experts in the field of course design and instructional delivery. All courses are reviewed for alignment with West Virginia Content Standards and Objectives and the International Association for K-12 Online Learning (iNACOL) National Standards for Quality Online Courses.
West Virginia students, like their peers nationally, are currently taking courses online that are not offered in their local schools. Some students are taking courses that they are unable to enroll in locally due to scheduling conflicts. Many schools use virtual courses when it is impossible to find highly qualified teachers. High-level math and science, world languages, electives and Advanced Placement courses are among the most requested virtual courses.
Most virtual courses have prerequisites consistent with what is required locally for the same course. Additionally, students must be knowledgeable about and abide by the state, county, and/or local Acceptable Use Policies. Students must use their state issued email account. Requests for virtual courses must be approved by the local Virtual School Contact and school administrator.
While there is no limit set in policy, students are encouraged to carefully schedule appropriate online course for successful completion. Providers generally allow and encourage students to proceed at their own pace, although some courses follow strict pacing guides. Some providers offer drop-in enrollment, while others specify start and end dates. Many courses are offered in either traditional, year-long and block formats. Please refer to the course catalog for specific course information.
Most providers allow a trial period, ranging from 14-28 days, during which students can drop a virtual course without penalty. However, students must rely on their individual school’s guidelines on withdrawing from courses. Grades earned in virtual courses will be recorded on a student’s transcript just like any other course grade received from the local school.
Tuition is paid by the WV Virtual School, on a first-come, first-served basis as long as funds are available. After funds have been expended, tuitions must be paid either by the local district or parent, as per county policy. Course prices vary by provider from $250 to $425 per half credit.
Course providers will determine the instructional materials used in a course. The county is responsible for any additional charges for textbooks, manuals, lab materials, software and exam fees. Advanced Placement exams are the responsibility of the local school and should be treated with the same policy as if a student takes the exam in a face-to-face classroom.
The local school is also required to assign a teacher, counselor, or administrator as the course facilitator. The facilitator will receive regular reports about student progress and will serve as the student’s first contact for academic problems. For technical problems, all providers offer technical assistance by phone.