Schools of Excellence
Main Content

2014-2015 Schools of Excellence Application

Due March 28, 2014

(See application for details)

The Schools of Excellence Recognition Program has been revised to reflect the ESEA Flexibility Waiver.

This PowerPoint will help explain how to manage the application process.

If you have additional questions, please contact Nancy Cline at

Applications should be mailed to:

WVDE, Office of School Improvement
Attention: Schools of Excellence
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Capitol Complex Building 6, Room 330
Charleston, WV 25305-0330

Schools of Excellence for 21st Century Learning

Schools of Excellence offer instructional programs that meet rigorous academic standards, have supportive and learning-centered school environments, and demonstrate student achievement results that are significantly above the average for comparable schools. In addition, WV Code 18-5A-4 requires that these schools show improvement in student achievement, improvement in reducing dropout rates, improvement in standardized test scores, implementation of advanced or innovative programs, implementation of the goals and purposes of jobs through education, improvement in parent and community involvement, improvement in parent, teacher and student satisfaction, improvement in student attendance and other factors which promote excellence in education.

Schools of Excellence Winning Applications:


  • Ashford-Rumble Elementary, Boone County
  • Craigsville Elementary, Nicholas County
  • Dingess Elementary, Mingo County
  • Eastbrook Elementary, Putnam County
  • Princeton Primary, Mercer County
  • Shoals Elementary, Kanawha County
  • West Hamlin Elementary, Lincoln County
  • White Hall Elementary, Marion County
  • High School

  • Liberty High, Raleigh County
  • Vocational School

    • Fayette Institute of Technology, Fayette County