Office of
Special Programs

Name Responsibilities Email Address
Pat Homberg
Executive Director
* Statewide Leadership
* Policy/Legislation
* Interagency Councils
* Regional Education Service Agencies
* State Advisory Council
* ESEA Waiver RESAs 4 and 6
* SPP/APR Indicator #17
* Support for Specialized Instruction (SSDI) Academy
phomberg@k12.wv.us
Ghaski Browning
Assistant Director
* IDEA Part B Monitoring/Compliance
* Accountability
* ESEA Waiver RESAs 1, 3, 8
* SPP/APR Indicators #15, #16, #17 
 glee@k12.wv.us

Assistant Director
* Professional Development/Technical Assistance
* Support for Personalized Learning (SPL) Academy
* IDEA Part B Monitoring/Results
* ESEA Waiver RESAs 2, 5, 7
* SPR/APR Indicator #17  
@k12.wv.us 
Susan Beck
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring RESA 2
* SPP/APR Indicator #11
* Specific Learning Disabilities
* Subgroup Intervention - Support for Personalized Learning
* ESEA Waiver RESA 2
sbeck@k12.wv.us 
JoDonna Burdoff
Coordinator, RESA 7
* Results Monitoring RESA 7
* Autism
* Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports
* Subgroup Intervention - Positive School Climate
* ESEA Waiver RESA 7
jburdoff@k12.wv.us  
Annette Carey
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 8
* Deafness/Hard-of-Hearing
* Blindness and Low Vision
* Deafblindness OSEP Project
* SPP/APR Indicator #3
* NxG Essential and Community Elements
* ESEA Waiver RESA 8
acarey@k12.wv.us  
 Lorraine Ciambotti-Elswick
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring RESA 8
* Formal Written Complaints
* SPP/APR Indicators #4
* Special Education Forms
* Subgroup Intervention - Universal Design For Learning
* ESEA Waiver RESA 8
lciambot@k12.wv.us  
Shana Clay
Coordinator 
* Finance/Accounting
* Fiscal Monitoring
* Data
* Website
* SPP/APR Indicator #17
 Matthew Dotson
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring RESA 7
* SPP/APR Indicator #1
* WVSSAC
*Subgroup Intervention - Service Delivery
* ESEA Waiver RESA 7
ddotson@k12.wv.us  
Mary Pat Ferrell
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 5
* Intellectual Disability
* Mathematics
* Subgroup Intervention - Mathematics Academy
* ESEA Waiver RESA 5
* SPP/APR Indicator #9
* NxGen CSOs Mathematics K-12
mfarrell@k12.wv.us  
Paula Fields
Coordinator
* Community Schools
* School Health Services
* Community Services
* School-Based Mental Health
* Kidstrong
prfields@k12.wv.us  
Debra Harless
Coordinator 
* Compliance Monitoring RESA 4
* English/Language Arts
* Technical Assistance Support Specialists
* Emotional/Behavioral Disorders
* Subgroup Intervention - Teaching and Learning Academy, Informative/Classroom Assessment
* SPP/APR Indicator #3
* ESEA Waiver RESA 4
* Reading Academy K -12
* NxtGen CSOs English/Language Arts K - 12
Kathy Hudnall
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 2
* Formal Written Complaints
* Special Education Leadership Academies
* Due Process/Mediation Backup
* Personnel Retention/ Recruitment/Institutions of Higher Education
* Subgroup Intervention - Differentiated Instruction
* SPR/APR Indicator #12
khhudnal@k12.wv.us  
Ginger Huffman
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 7
* Developmental Delay
* SPP/APR Indicators #7
* Subgroup Intervention - Problem-Solving Process
* Camp Gizmo
* ESEA Waiver RESA 7
* Reading Academy K-5
* Early Learning Standards Framework
vhuffman@k12.wv.us 
Lanai Jennings
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 4
* SPP/APR
* Data Management
* Evaluation/Eligibility
* Subgroup Intervention - Data Collection and Assessment System
*ESEA Waiver RESA 4
* SPP/APR Indicator #10
ljennings@k12.wv.us 
Rebecca King
Coordinator
*School Health Services
*School Nursing
*School Nurse Needs assessment
* Section 504 and IDEA
* Other Health Impairment
rjking@access.k12.wv.us 
Ruth Ann King
Contracted
* Deaf/blindness OSEP Project
raking@k12.wv.us 
Kathy Knighton
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 2
* Personnel Retention/ Recruitment/Institutions of Higher Education
* Camp Gizmo
* Speech/Language Impairment
* Assistive Technology
* Subgroup Intervention - Vocabulary
* Reading Academy K-5
* ESEA Waiver RESA 2
* SPP/APR Indicator #6
kknighto@k12.wv.us 
Michael Knighton
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring RESA 3
* Online IEP
* Orthopedic Impairment
* Subgroup Intervention - Individualized Education Program
* ESEA Waiver RESA 3
* SPP/APR Indicator #5
mknighto@k12.wv.us 
Vickie Mohnacky
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 1
* Gifted Educatiion
* Medicaid
* Subgroup Intervention - Cognitive Strategy Instruction
* NxtGen Learning Skills and Technology Tools CSOs
vmohnack@k12.wv.us 
Anne Monterosso
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring (RESA 5, 6)
* SPP/APR Indicator #13
* Subgroup Intervention - Basic Core Strategies for Dropout Prevention
* Reading Academy K - 12
* ESEA Waiver RESAs 5, 6
amontero@k12.wv.us 

Coordinator
* English/Language Arts
* Technical Assistance Support Specialists
* Prefessional Development
* Subgroup Intervention - Teaching and Learning Academy
@k12.wv.us 
Sheila Paitsel
Coordinator
* Compliance Monitoring RESA 1
* Out-Of-State
* Social Studies
* Subgroup Intervention - Early Warning System, National Dropout Prevention Center Program
* ESEA Waiver RESA 1
* SPP/APR Indicator #2
sgpaitsel@k12.wv.us 
Betsy Peterson
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 3
* Parent Educator Resource Centers
* SPP/APR Indicator #8
* West Virginia Advisory Council for the Education of Exceptional Children
* Traumatic Brain Injury
* WVDE Parent Phone Calls
* Subgroup Intervention - Scaffolding
* Support for Collaborative Parent Partnerships (SCPP) Academy
* ESEA Waiver RESA 3
bpeterso@k12.wv.us 
Aaron Riley
Coordinator
* Public Reporting
* Application Development and Maintenance
ariley@k12.wv.us 
Amber Stohr
Coordinator
* Research
* Evaluation
* Data Requests/Support
* SPP/APR Indicator #17
astohr@k12.wv.us 
Valerie Wilson
Coordinator
* Results Monitoring RESA 6
* Accessible Instructional Materials (AIM)
* Technology Integration Specialist
* OSP Technical Support
* Science
* Subgroup Intervention - Technology
* Digital Lilbrary
* ESEA Waiver RESA 6
* SPP/APR Indicator #14
vwilson@k12.wv.us 
Jim Harris
Coordinator
WV Autism Training Center

* Early Childhood Positive Behavioral Supports
* Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports
* Subgroup Intervention - Positive School Climate
http://www.marshall.edu/coe/atc/
Jacqui Veres
Secretary III-A
* Autism Mentors
* Parent Educator Resource Centers
* Professional Development
* General Office Management
* Special Education Directors Listserv
jacqui.veres@k12.wv.us 
Kathy Garten
Secretary II
* Telephones
* Mail
* Inventory
kgarten@k12.wv.us 
Jennifer Myers
Secretary II
* Out-Of-State Facilities
* Compliace and Monitoring
* Purchasing
* Due Process Hearing Officers/Mediators
* Travel
jamyers@k12.wv.us 
Linda Payne
Secretary II
* Purchasing/Hospitality
* School Nurses
* WVEIS Electronic Health Care Plan
* K12 School Nurse Listserv
lfpayne@k12.wv.us 
 

 

Office of Special Programs
Building 6, Rm 304
1900 Kanawha Blvd
Charleston, WV 25305
Phone: 304-558-2696
Fax: 304-558-3741