Skip Navigation
Special Education
Special Education
Main Content



Advisory Council—The West Virginia Advisory Council for the Education of Exceptional Children (WVACEEC) is mandated by state Code $18-20-6 and charged in part with advising decision makers regarding the unmet needs of exceptional children which includes students with disabilities and students identified as gifted.  The mission adopted by the Council is to influence the State Board of Education, public policy makers, and West Virginia’s citizens in ways that continuously improve educational outcomes for children with exceptionalities.

The Council meets monthly in various locations across the state to seek input and gain information about programs and services for exceptional students.  Local media, local and regional special education administrators, Parent Educator Resource Centers, principals, superintendents, school board members, school improvement councils, faculty senates and community members are informed about scheduled meetings.  The Council produces an annual report to the WV Board of Education with recommendations. 

Annual Report 2014-2015

West Virginia Board of Education's Response

Annual Report 2013-2014

West Virginia Board of Education's Response

Meeting Dates - 2015-2016
September 10 - 11, 2015Pendleton, Randolph, Tucker, Grant CountiesRESA 7 and 8
October 8 - 9, 2015Pocahontas, Webster CountiesRESA 4
November 5 - 6, 2015Doddridge, Harrison CountiesRESA 7
December 10 - 11, 2015Wood CountyRESA 5
February 4 - 5, 2016Mason, Jackson, Roane CountiesRESA 2 and 5
March 10 - 11, 2016Monroe, Summers, Greenbrier CountiesRESA 1 and 4
May 5 - 6, 2016Clay CountyRESA 3

June, 2016: WV State Board of Education Annual Report

Council Staff:

Susan A. White,
Executive Director

800-542-9842 Ext. 62034


c/o Marshall University
Graduate Studies
100 Angus E. Peyton Dr.
South Charleston, WV 25303

Council Members

Vincent Schmidt, Chair, Parent, Private/Parochial Schools  (Ohio Co.)
Jeff McCroskey, Co-chair, Community, Post- secondary Transition (Roane Co.)
Patricia Homberg, Executive Director Office of Special Programs (Kanawha Co.)
Jane Bogan, Marshall University, Institutions of Higher Education (Putnam Co.)
Rebecca Derenge, McKinney-Vento Homeless Children (Kanawha Co.)
Ashley Mann, Special Education Teacher (Monroe Co.)
Kelly Miller, Parent (Lincoln Co.)
John Milliman, WV Schools for the Deaf and the Blind (Hampshire Co.)
Michelle Norweck, Parent (Cabell Co.)
Naomi Rahn, Parent, WVU, Institutions of Higher Education (Monongalia Co.)
Kimberly Rodes, Special Education Administrator (Summers Co.)
Kathy Stonemark, Parent, Parent Educator Resource Centers (Fayette Co.)