Main Content

The West Virginia Board of Education approved the following implementation schedule for the Next Generation Standards:

  • Fall 2011: Kindergarten
  • Fall 2012: First Grade
  • Fall 2013: Second Grade
  • Fall 2014: Grades 3-12

In order to provide all students and teachers access to the curriculum two years prior to administration of the West Virginia Next Generation Assessment aligned with the West Virginia Next Generation Standards, the West Virginia Department of Education has developed the following professional development schedule:

Summer, 2011-12Kindergarten
Summer, 2012-13First, Fourth, Fifth, and Ninth Grade
Summer, 2013-14Second, Third, Sixth, Seventh, and Tenth Grade
Summer, 2014-15Eighth, Eleventh, Twelfth Grade