A Record Number Of WV Teachers Recognized For The Profession's Highest Honor

September 10, 2004

Charleston, W.Va. – Sixty-four West Virginia teachers were honored at a ceremony Wednesday evening at the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences for achieving the teaching profession’s highest credential – National Board Certification.  

Members of the West Virginia Board of Education, State Superintendent of Schools David Stewart and several other distinguished guests honored the teachers for obtaining this prestigious credential.  

“National Board Certification is such a stellar accomplishment,” said State Schools Superintendent David Stewart. “We know improving teacher quality improves student learning, and by achieving National Board Certification, these teachers have met the highest teaching standards in the nation.”  

West Virginia teachers honored were: David Alfred, Ohio County; Suzanne Anderson, Wood County; Kenna Barger, Randolph County; Monica Beane, Braxton County; Steve Beckelhimer, Cabell County; Patricia Blake, Cabell County; Janet Bowland, Fayette County; Vivian Brown, Nicholas County; Brenda Bunn, Cabell County; Lee Anne Burton, Marion County; Gerri Chaffin, Wayne County; Helen Curry, Mingo County; Patricia Dillon, Mingo County; Margaret Dolan, Ohio County; Patricia Hanson, Greenbrier County; Brenda Hatten, Wayne County; Cindy Hatten, Wayne County; Janet Kerby, Roane County; Barbara Kesner, Mineral County; Eric Kincaid, Monongalia County; Gerry Kohler Wood County; Amber Lafferty, Putnam County; Donna Rae Lambert, Braxton County; Kathryn Lea Lazenby, Raleigh County; Sheila Leach, Cabell County; Patricia Long, Berkeley County; Robin Mace, Wood County; Sandra Marchese, Berkeley County; Jennifer Mayo, Kanawha County; Joan Montgomery, Greenbrier County; Linda Morrison, Ohio County; Carol Muniz, Monongalia County; Cheryl Nelson, Pocahontas County; Larry Oyster, Cabell County; Julia Pauley, Mercer County; Holly Plunkett, Monongalia County; Courtney Proctor Cross, Cabell County; Donna Ream, Greenbrier County; Cheryl Reger, Upshur County; Neil Reger, Upshur County; Mickie Richardson, Wood County; Debbie Robbins, Monongalia County; Lynda Sago, Marion County; Terri Ann Sappington, Monongalia County; Raymond Singleton, Kanawha County; Janet Sisler, Hardy County; Rosalind Smith, Wayne County; Barbara Stalnaker, Randolph County; Joseph Stephens, Wood County; Brenda Stevenson, Cabell County; Susan Stone, Mineral County; Carol Sutphin, Wood County; Michelle Talerico, Marion County; Nancy Talley, Mercer County; Pamela Taylor, Cabell County; Frances Tolley, Putnam County; Sheila Kay Toth, Marion County; Mary Triplett, Clay County; Deborah Lynn Underwood, Cabell County; Natalie Webb, Monongalia County; Leslie Wellman, Wayne County; Judith Werner, Monongalia County; Pamela Wilson, Wood County; and Katrina Wilson, Marion County.  

With the 64 new certificates, West Virginia now has a total of 152 National Board Certified Teachers (NBCT). The 64 new certifications nearly doubles 2002’s total of 33. Nationwide, 8,196 teachers earned their profession’s top honor in 2003 by achieving National Board Certification. This achievement brings the total number of NBCT to 32,131.  

Founded 16 years ago, National Board of Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and non-governmental organization dedicated to advancing the quality of teaching and learning. A voluntary process established by NBPTS, certification is achieved through a rigorous performance-based assessment that takes between one and three years to complete and measures what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do.  

For more information about national certification, please contact Scottie Ford, Coordinator for the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Professional Preparation at (304) 558-7012.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.