West Virginia Teacher Of The Year To Be Announced September 7 In Charleston

September 03, 2004

Charleston, W.Va. - The 2005 West Virginia Teacher of the Year will be announced during a special ceremony on Tuesday, September 7, at the Charleston Marriott at approximately 8:30 p.m. All county teachers of the year will be recognized during the ceremony scheduled to begin at 8 p.m. The West Virginia Teacher of the Year will represent the state at the national level.  

This year’s six finalists include: Mary Kohelis, a social studies teacher from Brooke High School, Brooke County; Michael King, a science and biology teacher from Ravenswood High School, Jackson County; Dr. Larry Watson, an agricultural education teacher from Marion County Technical Center, Marion County; Peggy Dolan, a Spanish/French teacher from Wheeling Park High School, Ohio County; Jason Hughes, an agriculture education teacher from St. Marys High School, Pleasants County; and J. Michael Sharpolisky, an English teacher from Buckhannon-Upshur, Upshur County.  

Paying tribute to educators since 1964, the Teacher of the Year award is the longest, ongoing awards program honoring classroom teachers.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.